Stat of the Day (Missed Free Throws)

I was going to wait until his next game to post this, because he isn’t quite at the magic number, yet. But the Phoenix Suns don’t play again until Christmas Day against the San Antonio Spurs, so I figure I’ll post it now.

I heard this one on ESPN radio yesterday.

Shaquille O’Neal is about to become only the second player in NBA history to miss 5,000 free throws in his career. Wilt Chamberlain has the most misses in NBA history with 5,805. Shaq currently has 4,995 misses, which likely means the magical miss will come against the Spurs – if not, surely the game after.

Some quick research shows that nobody else has even missed 4,000 career free throw attempts. The next most misses I could find behind Shaq was Karl Malone with 3,401 misses, and Malone’s 13,188 free throw attempts are the most in NBA history.

Fun fact: only 63 NBA players have even attempted 5,000 free throws in their career.