Revisiting Brandon Phillips’ Short Playoff Stint

Two posts in one day?!  Yeah.  That just happened.

It’s the top of the 8th and the Reds are clearly looking like a team that will once again not score any runs.  That will lead them to a 3-0 sweep at the hands of the Philadelphia Phillies.  There’s no shame in that, obviously, the Phillies are a good team.  However, our old friend and Brandon Phillips went and opened his mouth again before the playoffs started and because of that, we’ll put him under the microscope.

We’ll start with the good.  In Game 2, Phillips led off the game with a homer.  He followed that up with a single and double.  Good work.  His team still lost the game 7-4.  But really, that one game makes him the best hitter on the Reds during their minimal playoff stay.  Yipee!

Continue reading

A Playoff Problem

I have a problem.  I suppose it’s a nice problem to have, but it’s a problem nonetheless.  Let me explain.

I grew up as an Atlanta Braves fan – no – I was born an Atlanta Braves fan.  I love them.  I have this hat that my mother bought me while I was sitting in the front seat of the shopping cart at K-Mart.  I wore it everywhere right up until I turned 21 years old.  That’s when my roommates bought me a new one because “the old one makes you look dirty.”  I couldn’t disagree.  People didn’t recognize me without the hat.  If you look at my Facebook pictures, probably 85% of them have the hat in them and the other 15% are from college graduation when I wasn’t allowed to wear it.

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

