Waiting for the World Cup

Alright, I would say I’ve been slacking (like normal) but in this case it has been anything but.  As you know, I started a new job with the St. Louis Cardinals last Wednesday and that has kept me extremely busy.  It has also made me leery of posting about things that are baseball related.  Not that anyone there knows I have a blog or that I would say anything derogatory toward the Cardinals, but I just figure it’s better that way.  Anyway, this post is not about that, it’s about soccer.  World Cup soccer.

I went to a 30 Seconds to Mars concert with a friend of mine last night and we got to talking about World Cup rosters.  Neither one of us knew when the deadline was for a roster announcement so I figured I’d look it up and share it with all you faithful readers.

Coming up on May 11th teams must submit their preliminary 30 man roster.  Don’t count on many players who are left off this roster being present in South Africa.

Then, on either June 1st or June 5th, Fifa hasn’t really said, the roster must be cut down to the final 23.

Now, we’ll get a pretty good idea of who will be playing for the US in a few days.  I can hardly stand it.  They keep showing the commercials on ESPN and I get goosebumps.  Silly, I know, but come on.  It’s the biggest sporting event in the world by far.  I get a little excited.

Anyway, Bob Bradley will have to trim down the roster to 30 from this list.  Some of them are obvious, Landon Donovan, Tim Howard, and Clint Dempsey?  Yeah, you’re coming.  Others, not so much.  What about a guy like Jeff Cunningham?  The 33-year old has only played for the National Team 14 times but he was the top goalscorer in the MLS last season.  Things like that get you noticed.  Plus, he was the only player worth mentioning in the fiasco of a friendly match against Denmark way back in November.  I think he’ll get a long look from Bradley.

How about Edson Buddle, off to a roaring start for the LA Galaxy this season with 9 goals in six games?  Hard to ignore that as well.

Charlie Davies?  Maybe stick him on the 30 man roster and hope he is healthy enough to play by July?  I don’t see this one happening, but he’s worth a mention after impressing last year in the Confederations Cup.

Anyway, expect another one of these posts breaking down the 30 man roster when it’s announced on the 11th.  I can’t wait.

4 Responses

  1. Man I hate that Davies won’t make it…he’s young enough though. Brazil, here we come!

  2. classic 17

    If at all interested I’ve done my own World Cup piece and I’ll be covering the event in great detail. In order to view just click unto the either of the links provided below .

    Countdown To The One ….

    http://tophatal1.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/countdown-to-the-one/

    Alan Parkins

  3. I am glad you remembered the World Cup and wrote about it. It is sometimes hard to mix sports when you are in the middle of a season. You do that quite well. Thanks. I, too, will be awaiting the final roster for the USA.

  4. Good job Bro. I’ll be watching and waiting… and since I’ll be at home in June, I’ll be able to see the games, too!

Leave a Reply

