2010 NFL Draft Live Blog – Day 1

Ok after months of waiting, the 2010 NFL draft is finally here. At 7:30 ET Bryan’s Rams will be on the clock. At this point it seems that among the blog and mock draft world the Rams taking Sam Bradford is a pretty consensus opinion. They could still surprise people and take Ndamukong Suh or even trade out of the first pick, which there have been multiple rumors about. By 6ET I will be sitting here with my TV on ESPN and my Google Chrome window will have all sorts of tabs open, including the wish list I put together for my Colts.

To keep everyone occupied throughout the day until the draft actually starts, you can go check out the three mock drafts that I just put up:

One has Sam Bradford being picked first overall by the Rams.

One has Ndamukong Suh being picked first overall by the Rams.

And the last one has the Rams trading out of the first pick.

You can also check out the final results from the fan mock draft and my 20 previous mock drafts by following the appropriate one of these links: IIIIIIIVVVIVIIVIIIIXX,XIXIIXIIIXIVXVXVIXVIIXVIIIXIX, and XX.

Also to keep everyone entertained before the draft starts here is a video of Eric Berry, the #1 player on my big board:

And I might try to add some highlight videos for some of the picks in the first round as well.

1. St. Louis Rams – Sam Bradford – QB – Oklahoma

I first want to say that the Rams absolutely, 100% should’ve trade out of this pick. The Browns are rumored to have offered most of their picks this year as well as some for next year to get into the top spot. It’s ridiculous that the Rams did’t accept that. Bradford is a good quarterback but I certainly don’t think he’s first-overall-good. The Rams still could trade him (ala Eli Manning/Philip Rivers).  He also has failed to prove that he’s good under pressure, and that is the Rams biggest weakness. I just don’t think this is a good pick or fit at all.

2. Detroit Lions – Ndamukong Suh, DT, Nebraska

This is an obvious pick in my opinion. Great player. Can’t really say enough about the guy. The Lions just got a heck of a lot better. He can single-handedly dominate a game.

3. Tampa Bay Buccaneers – Gerald McCoy, DT, Oklahoma

The only reason McCoy isn’t the best defensive tackle in this draft is because his name isn’t Suh. In most any other draft he would be the best so the Bucs got a great pick here. He’s a great fit for Tampa Bay and the style of defense they run.

4. Washington Redskins – Trent Williams, OT, Oklahoma

Ummm… What? Really? I truly thought that this would be Okung. Williams is more athletic but I think Okung is more NFL ready. Not a bad pick but certainly not what I expected.

5. Kansas City Chiefs – Eric Berry, S, Tennessee

Berry is the best player in the draft in my opinion… and honestly I don’t think it’s even close. Suh is great, but a player like Eric Berry is a once-in-a-lifetime type guy. Berry stuffs the run and hits like Bob Sanders but has the ball hawkings skills and return ability of Ed Reed. That is a scary scary combination.

6. Seattle Seahawks – Ruissell Okung, OT, Oklahoma State

Great pick here. I didn’t expect Okung to fall this far and I doubt the Seahawks did either. A great player they had fall into their laps here. He’s too good to pass up at this point.

7. Cleveland Browns – joe haden, CB, florida

First gator off the board. I think he’s overrated though, his combine was horrible.

8. Oakland Raiders – Rolando McClain, LB, Alabama

Lando is a great player and will be a good player in the NFL, but I do think this is a little early for him to be picked. It’ll be fun to see how well he plays in the silver and black.

9. Buffalo Bills – CJ Spiller, RB, Clemson

This makes me wonder how far Clausen is going to fall. I thought the Bills would grab him. I also thought there were numerous other players they’d take before Spiller. They seemed pretty set at RB, but I guess if he was the highest player no their board and they’re dong the best player available approach then it makes sense.

10. Jacksonville Jaguars – Tyson Alualu, DT, California

Haha, what?! Alualu will be a good player but certainly not top ten worthy. I was hoping my Colts would be able to grab him in the second round with the 63rd overall pick. The Jags keep messing up their drafts and it makes me laugh. A division rival of the Colts making stupid decisions is fine by me.

TRADE: Broncos get 13th overall and 113th overall and San Francisco get the current pick

11. San Francisco 49ers (Via Denver via Chicago) – Anthony Davis, OT, Rutgers

I’m not real sure why the Niners felt the need to trade up for this. They likely could have gotten him at 13 because I’ll be relatively shocked if the Dolphins don’t take Dan Williams at 12.

TRADE: Chargers get 12th overall, a fourth rounder and a sixth rounder… 28th 40 overall and 4thnot sure about the rest yet.

12. San Diego Chargers (Via Miami) – Ryan Mathews, RB, Fresno State

Interesting. Again, not sure why they felt the need to trade up this far. Maybe they couldn’t get anyone else to trade down. Should help the Chargers replace LaDanian Tomlinson.

TRADE: Denver gets the Eagles first rounder and another pick I believe.

13. Philadelphia Eagles (Via Denver via San Francisco) – Brandon Graham, DE, Michigan

Wow, the picks these teams are making after trading up is just shocking me. Derrick Morgan is still on the board and to me he is significantly better than Graham.

14. Seattle Seahawks (Via Denver) – Earl Thomas, S, Texas

This is a good pick. It’s good value and he had eight interceptions last year. I tried to tell people a whole YEAR ago that Taylor Mays was overrated and people were trying to say he was better than Berry. Either way, Thomas is a stud, and should help the Seahawks right away.

15. New York Giants – Jason Pierre-Paul, DE, South Florida

An interesting pick here. It’s certainly a big reach, but he should fit into the Giants scheme and is a similar player to Osi, so he can learn under him. Bryan doesn’t think this is a good pick at all. It’ll be interesting to see how this plays out though. The one thing that shocks me is that now two DEs have been taken before Derrick Morgan.

16. Tennessee Titans – Derrick Morgan, DE, Georgia Tech

Well the Jags make an absolutely dreadful pick and the Titans get a heck of a steal in the draft. I guess it balances out for the Colts. Morgan is great against the run but doesn’t have the ideal speed to be a super dangerous pass rusher. So really he kind of plays into the Colts hands.

17. San Francisco 49ers (Via Carolina) – Mike Iupati, OG, Idaho

Wow, this is one of the players I was hoping the Colts could have fall to them but this is a good pick for the Niners. They have now taken an offensive tackle and an offensive guard in the first round. That should really help their offensive line. I was already thinking that the 49ers would be my early favorite to win the NFC West this year and this helps their cause.

18. Pittsburgh Steelers – maurkice pouncey, OG/OC, florida

Thanks god. That’s all I can say. There were SO many people that had the Colts taking pouncey in the first so with him off the board I don’t have to worry about that anymore.

19. Atlanta Falcons – Sean Weatherspoon, OLB, Missouri

Damn. I REALLY wanted Spoon to fall to the Colts. He is a PERFECT fit, but he deserves to go this high and he’s a great pick for the Falcons here. He also gets to join back up with his Mizzou defensive teammate, William Moore, who was drafted by the Falcons last year.

20. Houston Texans – Kareem Jackson, CB, Alabama

Uh, I mean… okay? This seems way too early for Jackson to be drafted, especially with Kyle Wilson still on the board. It’s fine with me though, once again a Colts division rival making a mistake. This is a big reach. I’m happy.

Update: I can’t even find any Kareem Jackson highlights on youtube to put up.

21. Cincinnati Bengals – Jermaine Gresham, TE, Oklahoma

I saw this pick coming from a mile away. It seems like this was a given pick in the first round dating all the way back to January. Should help the Bengals offense in the red zone.

TRADE: Broncos get current pick

22. Denver Broncos (Via New England) – Demaryius Thomas, WR, Georgia Tech

What? Dez Bryant is still on the board and so is Golden Tate. I guess this is who the Broncos wanted. Not a good pick in my opinion. Oh well, doesn’t hurt my team any.

23. Green Bay Packers – Bryan Bulaga, OT, Iowa

It’s about time somebody grabbed Bulaga. There were mocks out there that had him going as high as fourth to the Redskins.

24. Dallas Cowboys (Via New England via Denver via Philly) – Dez Bryant, WR, Oklahoma State

Wow this is crazy. With him, Roy Williams and Miles Austin plus their trio at running back and Jason Witten also catching passes. Tony Romo must be in heaven right now.

25. Denver Broncos (via Baltimore) – tim tebow, QB, florida

Wow. This is ridiculous. There is no way tebow is worth a first round pick.

26. Arizona Cardinals – Dan Williams, DT, Tennessee

This is not what I expected at all, and I’d have much rather seen him go to the Dolphins so he can go beat up on tom brady, but this is a really smart pick by the Cardinals.

27. New Englad Patriots (via Dallas) – Devin McCourty, CB, Rutgers

This isn’t a bad pick for the end of the first round, but it is considering Kyle Wilson is still available. I’m happy about it.

28. Miami Dolphins (Via San Diego) – Jared Odrick, DL, Penn State

Well I didn’t see this coming. Odrick isn’t a nose tackle so they’re gonna have to use him as a defensive end. Hopefully it works out and they can get some pressure on tom brady. I really wanted Odrick to be with the Colts, but at this point I’ll be happy with Sergio Kindle, Kyle Wilson, Taylor Mays and several others.

29. New York Jets – Kyle Wilson, CB, Boise State

WOW! They’re defense is unreal. Good luck passing on them. Kyle Wilson is an absolute STEAL right here.

30. Detroit Lions (Via Minnesota) – Jahvide Best, RB, California

Very interesting. I think the Vikings traded down because they’ll still be able to get Colt McCoy or Jimmy Clausen with the second pick of the second round.

31. Indianapolis Colts – Jerry Hughes, OLB/DE, TCU

I’m okay with this pick. It’s not who I wanted, but I’m okay with it.

32. New Orleans Saints – Patrick Robinson, CB, Florida State

This is a solid pick here. It’s not what I expected but it’s a good pick.

121 Responses

  1. […] remind everyone that Bryan and I will be live blogging during all three days of the actual draft (to go to the page for Day 1 click here) and we hope that everyone will come join the running conversation that we will have going on in […]

    • I have to work an event this evening. I am going to need live updates.

  2. Alright, I’m here. I don’t know where Weller is but the comments are open. If you’re new here, I’ll be approving comments as they come in so check back early and often.

  3. Any doubt that Bradford is not that pick here?

    • No. It’s Bradford or trade. If Cleveland is really willing to offer us most of their picks this year and some of next year’s picks we’d be fools not to take it.

  4. I cannot see any comments besides the first 3

    • There were a bunch of trackbacks and it got really cluttered and I took them out. You’re not missing anything.

      By the way, enjoy Adam Carriker.

  5. I really wanted to trade down. I was a Suh guy anyway.

    I’m hoping it’s not over and we get a Manning-Rivers type trade.

    • Yeah, I’m not sold on Bradford either. Not after that QB camp where Gruden grilled him. I guess that’s nothing compared to what other coaches have told him but still… They should’ve taken Suh, and gone for Mccoy or whoever is left at the top of the 2nd round…

  6. Mixed reception for Bradford. Interesting.

    • That doesn’t surprise me at all. I think it’s the wrong pick.

    • I don’t think it’s the wrong pick, I think Suh would’ve been a better pick but Bradford is the best QB in the draft and we have a glaring need there. Pre-injury I was 100% Bradford.

    • He’s not NFL ready, I watched him through his entire career seeing as I go to school in the same league. Talented? Yes. Going to be great? Yes. Ready now? No

    • Good to have you Cowboys,
      I think the only thing that will hold him back from being great is getting blasted David Carr style in his first year. Unfortunately, that’s a real possibility. So in a way, I agree with you, he’s not ready but i don’t think it’s for the same reasons.

      Where do you go to school?

    • Texas A&M so I’ve been in the 100+ degree weather watching him walk all over my team ;) but I don’t think he has the leadership skills to take charge of his line and be an elite QB. I don’t think he’s going to be able to read defenses…. he needs to be a student of the game before he can really live up to his billing.

    • I went to Mizzou so I did the same thing you did only in colder temperatures.

      He’s going to have to transition from the spread…should be interesting.

    • I think I agree with Cowboys on this one… I just don’t think Bradford is ready yet. Especially because they won’t be able to keep the pressure off of him.

    • Should be very interesting, I’m not sold on him right now but he could prove me wrong. I see more Alex Smith and JaMarcus Russell not so much Peyton Manning or Eli Manning

  7. Your welcome, Detroit. Enjoy Suh.

    • I would not have been surprised to see the Lions go with Okung. Might want to protect that QB.

  8. Anyone else not like having 200 people in the green room? It’s tipping picks and I don’t like that.

    • I agree. I would rather there be surprise. McCoy crying was a dead give away. Would not be surprised to see a third Sooner here or Berry.

    • It takes away from the intensity of each pick.

  9. OMG BERRY is ON THE BOARD!!! COME ON PIOLI!!

    • It would be the right pick…

    • One Tennessee boy or the other… Either Eric Berry or Dan Williams.

  10. Williams fits the bill more of what Shanahan wanted more than Okung did. He used smaller faster lineman when he was in Denver for his zone blocking schemes. I saw this pick coming due to the mass amount of people talking about it for the last couple of days.

  11. Looks like it’s Berry

    • Dangit.

    • Guh I hate the UT bias in these comments.

    • UT Bias? Have you seen this kid play? He’s a star no matter where he goes he’s going to make a difference, this is about as sure a pick as you can get.

    • Yeah, being a Tennessee fan and a Rams fan, I didn’t want to see him go to the cross-state Chiefs.

    • I do not believe he is a once in a lifetime player.

    • Michael, who else do you think the Chiefs would have picked? nearly all of the mock drafts out there had Berry or Williams being the Chiefs pick.

    • I’m gonna have to disagree. I don’t think I’ve seen a safety out of college with this much talent and this much football smarts in years and years. He’s NFL ready NOW and he’s only going to get better…

    • Once in a LIFETIME may be a stretch, but he’s certainly a phenomenal talent.

    • Berry is going to be a pro bowler if that means anything nowadays…

    • PS – Michael, there are only two folks with a UT bias here. The rest just recognize Berry’s talent haha

    • After having Roy Williams as a safety I imagine you would want anyone back there.

    • Low blow my friend, low blow.

  12. Nice, Forsett finally has a good blocker!

    • Good to have you chappy. I thought Okung was the best OT all along, but I read some less-than-glowing reviews last night so we’ll see.

    • God what I would do to have that kid in Dallas… I’m hoping an solid first round OT stays on the board till 27 or Dallas trades up I’m just not 100% on Doug Free protecting Romo’s blind side.

    • I’m already scared to see who the raiders pick :(

    • I’m guessing Pierre-Paul. Rocketed up draft boards.

    • I mean McClain.

  13. Weller’s internet has broken, by the way.

    • Man, he sure has a lot of computer/internet problems!

    • Yeah…he really does. Make fun of him accordingly.

    • He should buy one of those external internet plans. My roomate has one for work, and it’s pretty cool because you can use it anywhere… I’d recommend that he AT LEAST change his internet service!

  14. McClain….thoughts, Chappy?

    • I dunno, I don’t really like it unless we trade morrison for a pick later in the draft. I feel like we already have ten LB’s, and a few aren’t that bad… I’ll just keep my fingers crossed it works out…

    • God will someone takes the keys away from that nut in Oakland

    • I was hoping for another pick that wasn’t even in the draft handbook.

    • Yeah, I didn’t expect that, but then again, I never really know what to expect lol! Hopefully he’ll be our first good pick since Asomugha…

    • I can tell you what Oakland’s biggest draft need is, someone to buy that team

  15. Is Spiller trade bait? Or is it Marshawn and Jackson that are now trade bait?

    • I’d guess Lynch. He wore out his welcome like McGahee, didn’t he?

      Or am I just imagining things.

    • Marshawn is probably trade bait.

    • Yeah, Buffalo is over him. I still like him, because I’m a Cal fan… I like Tyson, but that was ridiculous!

  16. I’m back, Gents!

  17. The first 8 picks came from the Big 12 or SEC.

  18. Is anybody else surprised that we haven’t seen a single trade yet and we’re through the top ten?

    • Just happened lol

    • speak of the devil!

  19. Tyson Alualu?! Hahaha! I was hoping the Colts could get him in THE SECOND ROUND!

    • Bad pick…. not sure what they were thinking…

    • …what.

    • Wow, that makes me happy with the Raiders pick!

    • And it should. Good Lord.

    • Totally agree… can’t wait to run all over his OVERRATED arse! In Arrowhead AND in Oakland. Bring it.

    • Uh oh, we have a Chiefs fan vs. a Raiders fan. I smell drama.

    • Oh yea? Is Thomas Jones going to have a huge year behind that beastly line that KC has?!?

    • Better believe it. Watch… :)

    • Seeing is believing, and even in my imagination, I’m having a tough time seeing the 31 year old doing all that great…

  20. Interesting move SD. I hope they gave up a lot for that…

    • I think they could’ve waited to trade up and not given up as much. Seems odd.

    • Yeah, 13-20 really don’t need a RB very much… I would’ve waited, but I’ll be happy anytime a division rival gives up too much…

  21. What the……woah Philly

    • This first round is bizarre.

    • Yeah, I love how wrong Mel is so off on his draft board!

    • I’m not so sure Mel is that off on his board, I think teams are making…. stretches? I think that sums up the first round so far…. lots of stretching

    • TONS of it.

      I hate Earl Thomas is fantastic. This doesn’t make me happy.

    • Man Earl Thomas was a steal, that kid can flat out play.

  22. Earl Thomas is a stud.

    • Have quite a few friends on the Texas team and they say he’s unreal on the field.

  23. Where is Clausen going to fall?

    • To the Raiders in the 2nd round!

  24. Ha, the New York Giants’ key arrival is Jim Sorgi. That’s funny.

  25. What do you guys think about the Giants pick? I’m up in the air on it.

    • For the giants? I think it’s a good pick, he’s going to have time to learn the defense and learn how to play on the NFL level while getting great coaching. As a Cowboy’s fan I don’t wanna see this kid line up against us in a year or two

    • Don’t like it

  26. Evidently Pouncey got an advance on his rookie contract to finance that chain.

  27. Seahawks fan in the uk here. Wow what a great draft this year. Very pleased with Okung and Thomas, noot much of a pass rush but then if we picked morgan we’d be saying we had no safety. Thrilled wo didnt get Clausen.

    Not happy with the 49ers though! very very good picks

    • I’d be thrilled if I were you. You’re having the best draft of the year so far.

      You’re also the third Hawks fan from the UK that we’ve hard around here. What’s up with that?

  28. Still waiting on Claussen, McCoy…even Tebow?

    • Tebow won’t be going anywhere tonight. Good to see that he and his boyfriend picked out the same shirt, though.

    • LOL

  29. second mate, its Duncan from the mock draft ;o)

    Whats do you think we do next? Loads of great talent left, do we try and trade up, using next years picks?

    • Ah, that makes more sense. I don’t know if I’d trade up just because someone great is going to fall. Especially a DE because there are plenty in this draft.

  30. I gotta believe the Broncos go with dez bryant here.

  31. Oh wow…. I think this is another stamp saying “we aren’t dealing with any on or off the field issues”

  32. Sorry guys, had to switch over to see the Lebron show. They almost came back, but not quite… The guy would be the Rams #1 pick if he was on the board!

    I loved the Niners picks. It makes me want to draft Gore next year in fantasy… It should help Alex Smith too, being able to stand upright in the pocket for a change. Being from the Bay Area, I would like to see at least one of the teams make it in the playoffs…

  33. I’m having thoughts of Dez Bryant in blue and gold.

    Bradford to Bryant!

    • Or do you mean in an orange jumpsuit in the Colorado penitentiary!?!

    • Whoops, yeah thanks for bringing me back to reality.

  34. I did not have this on ANY of my boards but holy crap is this going to make this team scary when we have the football. You take Miles Austin who in the games he played was one of the top 3 WR’s in the NFL if not the top and you add a kid on the other side with speed, size, and hands…. add in a couple good RB’s and a star TE…. Now if we could get a kicker lol

    • Yeah, that was a solid move by Dallas. He has his more than Miles and a TE to throw to…

    • If you can keep him in line, this was a great pick.

  35. WHAT!?! Timmy to Denver!?!

  36. WOW Denver. What a waste. I’d be so angry.

    • Have you ever heard of a guy going up in the draft because he’s a good guy!?!? It’ll be okay for Denver, they drafted to get god on their side :)

  37. They have spent more time on Tebow than any other pick, including the #1 overall pick.

    This is why no one likes him.

    • I like Tebow. I think he will be a decent QB in the NFL.

    • If I’m trading up in the first round, I want more than decent. I don’t believe a guy who “re-invented” his throwing motion that fast was worth a first rounder. Especially with Clausen still there.

      But hey, they’ll have the darn tootin-est nicest locker room in football!

    • What has Clausen done? Many people were not blown away by Clausen and he is a prick from what I have read.

    • Clausen ran a pro-style offense and doesn’t have to re-invent anything he does in order to see the field.

  38. What the hell?

    http://www.firejoshmcdanielsnow.com

    • I’d fire the whole front office at this point.

  39. Lots of talent still out there for the second.

  40. […] NFL Draft Live Blog – Day 2 Posted on April 23, 2010 by colts18 Just like we did yesterday, we will be live blogging Day 2 of the draft with Bryan taking care of the comments and keeping the […]

Leave a Reply

