Colts Wish List

With the NFL Draft being just a few days away I thought it was time to put up my annual wish list for the Colts. There are a lot of different ways that the Colts could choose to go with this year’s draft so instead of simply putting down my wish list, I’m going to list who I will be happy with (realistically) at each pick and who I’ve heard we could be picked that would make me upset. We have eight picks this year (31, 63, 94, 129, 162, 238, 240, and 246 overall) and I think our biggest needs are o-line, d-line, outside linebacker, corner and safety. That’s not to say that we will necessarily draft somebody for each of those positions, Bill Polian and Co. usually throw in a surprise or two and usually draft with a “best player available” mentality. Either way, let’s get down to it:

Pick 31:

Want:

Dan Williams, DT, Tennessee – I would LOVE to see Dan Williams fall to us. I don’t think there’s a chance it will happen but I did see it in a recent mock draft so I’m still hoping.

Earl Thomas, FS, Texas – I don’t see him falling to us but the safetys may slip a bit in the first round so I’d be happy with either him or Taylor Mays if they happened to fall into our laps.

Mike Iupati, OG, Idaho – I doubt he falls to the Colts but I have seen it in a mock draft or two so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Anthony Davis, OT, Rutgers – I really don’t see Davis falling to us, but I can hope.

Kyle Wilson, CB, Boise State – He’s been climbing draft boards lately so the chances of us getting him are less, but it could still happen.

Everson Griffen, DE, USC – I doubt we go with a DE in the first round, but if Griffen is there he’d be hard to pass up, and the same goes for Jason Pierre-Paul, though I think Griffen is more of the player we’re looking for at DE.

Sean Weatherspoon, OLB, Missouri – This might be my most desired pick for the first round behind Dan Williams. I think Spoon would be a perfect fit for the Colts.

Devin McCourty, CB, Rutgers – If Wilson is gone then McCourty would be a great corner to grab in the first.

Sergio Kindle, OLB, Texas – If we can’t have Spoon, which we probably won’t, then I want Kindle. He’s a stud as well.

Jared Odrick, DT, Penn State – Odrick is a great fit with the Colts. I would be extremely happy with this pick.

Happy with:

Jerry Hughes, DE/OLB, TCU – Hughes is certainly a first-round worthy pick for the Colts. I’m just not as high on him as I am Weathersoon or Kindle.

Bruce Campbell, OT, Maryland – I would definitley prefer Davis over Campbell, but it’s much more likely that Campbell will still be available.

Patrick Robinson, CB, Florida State – Good corner. I want Wilson or McCourty but Robinson would suffice.

Brian Price, DT, UCLA – I’d be happy with Price but I really want Odrick. I think Odrick is just a better fit, not necessarily a better player.

Charles Brown, OT, USC – This is borderline for me. It’s a good pick but I feel like we might be settling if this is who we went with.

Daryl Washington, LB, TCU – I’d rather have Hughes, but Washington would be a decent pick here.

Just okay with:

Rodger Saffold, OL, Indiana – He’s a local boy, but I just wouldn’t be thrilled with this pick. It’s a bit too much of a reach in my opinion.

Kareem Jackson, CB, Alabama – This would also be too much of a reach. Jackson is a good player, but I think he’s more of a mid-second round talent, rather than late first.

Nate Allen, FS, South Florida – This would be a big reach but if some how everyone else I’ve listed before now was gone then I guess I’d be okay with it.

Unhappy with:

maurkice pouncey, ol, florida – I will cry. The Colts are free of former gators and I want it to stay that way.

Pick 63:

Want:

Chris Cook, CB, Virginia – Cook can also play safety so this would be a good value pick and it would be a steal if he fell to the 63rd pick.

Tyson Alualu, DT, California – This would be a high value pick at a position of need.

Ricky Sapp, DE, Clemson – Another pick with great value. I’d definitely like to see him fall to us in the second round.

Vladimir Ducasse, OL, Umass – Ducasse can play both OG and OT so he would be a great asset to add to the o-line and would be superb value here.

Morgan Burnett, SS, Georgia Tech – High value and a position of need. Yes please.

Brandon Ghee, CB, Wake Forest – Ghee is a stud and a steal for a late second round pick.

Corey Wootton, DE, Northwestern – In the fan mock draft Wootton fell to me in the third round but I don’t see that happening in the real draft, but I’d still like him in the second.

Koa Misi, OLB, Utah – Misi has been climbing up boards a bit recently so I’d like to see him in the second round.

Chad Jones, SS, LSU – Jones can play safety and linebacker, which would be welcome versatility.

Lamarr Houston, DT, Texas – Houston is the only DT that I’d be happy with us taking in the second round.

Sean Lee, LB, Penn State – Lee can play inside or outside and is from Linebacker U.

Alex Carrington, DE, Arkansas State – I don’t know if I really want Carrington here but I think it’s decent value for the pick.

Happy with:

John Jerry, OL, Mississippi – Jerry can play guard and tackle so I’d be glad if he were added to the Colts.

Dominique Franks, CB, Oklahoma – Franks can also return kicks, which is rumored to be something the Colts are looking at in this draft.

Eric Norwood, LB, South Carolina – Norwood has jumped up some draft boards lately and would work well with the Colts.

Jared Veldheer, OT, Hillsdale – Should be a solid tackle in the NFL.

Just okay with:

Ben Tate, RB, Auburn – I’ve heard rumors that we might be looking at Tate for short yardage situations, but I’d much rather us get him in the third round because then he’d be a steal rather than a reach.

Reshad Jones, SS, Georgia – This would be a pretty big reach, but I wouldn’t be upset with the pick.

Unhappy with:

aaron hernandez, TE, florida – I don’t think we’d take a tight end this early anyhow, but this would be heart breaking if we did.

Jason Worilds, DE, Virginia Tech/Matt Tennant, OL, Boston College/Geno Atkins, DT, Georgia/Akwasi Owusu-Ansah, CB, Indiana (PA)/Jon Asamoah, OL, Illinois – These are all players that I would be more than happy with in the third round, but I’ve seen mocks with us taking them in the second and they are just too big of reaches for my liking.

Pick 94:

Want:

Donald Butler, LB, Washington – This would be a high value pick and we need a linebacker.

J.D. Walton, OL, Baylor – Walton can play center or guard which would certainly help our line that is being rebuilt.

Navorro Bowman, LB, Penn State – Another linebacker from linebacker U that I would like to see in Speed Blue next year.

Jerome Murphy, CB, South Florida – Murphy can also return kicks. Bonus.

Cam Thomas, DT, North Carolina – Thomas has a ton of potential and could end up being a huge steal in the third round.

Happy with:

Torrell Troup, DT, Central Florida – This wouldn’t be great value but he’s worth of a late third round pick.

Javier Arenas, CB, Alabama – Same as Troup. A slight reach but it’s still a position of need.

T.J. Ward, SS, Oregon – He could develop into a very high quality safety in the NFL.

Greg Hardy, DE, Mississippi – Remember when he was a projected first round pick? Well that potential is still there, and if he lived up to it then he could be a great pick in the third round.

Austen Lane, DE, Murray State – Small school kid with a lot of potential.

Just okay with:

Darrell Stuckey, SS, Kansas – He’s been slipping down draft boards and will likely be on the board for this pick, I just don’t think he’s what we’re looking for at safety and he’s be a bit of a reach.

Brandon Lang, DE, Troy – It’s a pretty big reach here but I’d understand if we took him.

Mike Johnson, OG, Albama – I’d prefer a lineman with more versatility, and he’d be a reach but he’s still probably worht the pick.

Perrish Cox, CB, Oklahoma State – He’s most definitley a reach here but he can return kicks.

Amari Spievey, CB, Iowa – First of all he has an awesome name, but he’d still be a reach.

Selvish Capers, OT, West Virginia – I feel like this would be quite a reach, but he may be the best OT left at this point.

Mike Neal, DT, Purdue – A smart football player. It would be a big reach but he’d fit in well with the Colts and he’s local.

Unhappy with:

brandon spikes, LB, florida – I don’t care how good the value would be. I hate florida.

Major wright, s, florida – same as spikes.

Jermaine cunningham, de, florida – this would be a reach AND he’s from florida.

Pick 129:

Want:

Arthur Jones, DT, Syracuse – This would be a heck of a pick in the fourth round.

Larry Asante, SS, Nebraska – Similar to Chad Jones, Asante can play both safety and linebacker… just not quite as well as Jones, but Asante would still be a great pick for the fourth round.

Dekota Watson, OLB, Florida State – Another pick I’d be very excited about if we got him in the fourth round.

Rennie Curran, OLB, Georgia – I’d say he’s good value here and I’d be happy with either him or Watson at this point.

Marshall Newhouse, OG, TCU – I feel like I have a lot of people from TCU listed so far. Either way Newhouse would make me happy with pick 129.

Linval Joseph, DT, East Carolina – Another solid pick for this part of the draft.

C.J. Wilson, DE, East Carolina – Wilson and Joseph were on the d-line together at East Carolina and both would be about the same value here and I’d be happy with either.

Alterraun Verner, CB, UCLA – I think this is about the point in the draft he’s projected to go at and would be a good pick for the Colts.

Kam Chancellor, FS, Virginia Tech – I’d like to see Chancellor on the Colts roster. That’s for sure.

Kyle Calloway, OT, Iowa – Should be a solid starter in the NFL.

Happy with:

Myron Lewis, CB, Vanderbilt – Lewis can play corner and safety and would provide nice depth and a reliable player to come in for nickle and dime situations.

Jamar Chaney, LB, Mississippi State – Should be a solid player for a fourth round pick.

Lindsey Witten, DE, Connecticut – Witten would be a good player to have develop for a few years behind Freeney and Mathis.

Jeff Owens, DT, Georgia – Would be a nice boost to the run defense.

Mitch Petrus, OL, Arkansas – I nice pick for the fourth round.

Zane Beadles, OL, Utah – Another Utah boy on the list. He can play both tackle and guard which is nice.

Trevard Lindley, CB, Kentucky – Lindley used to be considered a top ten pick. He plumetted though, but still has great potential and if he tapped into it getting him in the fourth round would be monumental.

Just okay with:

Ed Want, OT, Virginia Tech – A bit of a reach, but this far into the draft you’re usually going to have to reach for offensive tackles.

Daniel Te’o-nesheim, DE, Washington – Also a reach but if Wilson and Witten are gone then he’d be the best DE available.

A.J. Edds, OLB, Iowa – I always feel like defensive players from Iowa are going to be a solid pick.

Willie Young, DE, North Carolina State – Young has been slippind down draft boards lately so I don’t know how okay I’d be with this. It would be a big reach.

Jason Fox, OT, Miami – This would be a reach, but Fox has a lot of potential.

Garrett Graham, TE, Wisconsin – I’ve heard that we might be looking to draft a tight end, who’s a better run blocker, so I’d understand this pick but I wouldn’t be happy with it.

Unhappy with:

riley cooper, wr, florida – there is no reason this would happen, but I had to list somebody.

Pick 162:

Want:

Syd’Quan Thompson, CB, California – Thompson would be an awesome pick in the fifth round. I’d be stoked.

Pat Angerer, LB, Iowa – Could you ask for a better name? He’d also be great value here.

Ciron Black, OL, LSU – I’ve seen mocks with us taking him as early as the second round, which I would NOT be happy with. He’d be a steal in the fifth and I wouldn’t throw a fit if we took him in the fourth, but I certainly wouldn’t want him any earlier than that.

D’Anthony Smith, DT, Louisiana Tech – Good value here.

Donovan Warren, CB, Michigan – Good value for this pick and he can return kicks.

Walter Thurmond, CB, Oregon – About the same value as Warren, but doesn’t return kicks.

Phillip Dillard, LB, Nebraska – A solid pick this late in the draft.

Kevin Basped, DE, Nevada – This would be a nice pick to get with 162.

Perry Riley, LB, LSU – Playing in the SEC has him prepared for the speed of the NFL, he just needs to fine tune his skills.

Kevin Thomas, CB, USC – I’ve seen mocks with us taking him in the fourth round, which would be a reach, but in the fifth it’s decent value.

Happy with:

O’Brien Schofield, OLB, Wisconsin – Schofield could also play DE if need be.

A.J. Jefferson, CB, Fresno State – Also returns kicks.

Eric Olsen, OL, Notre Dame – Can play both center and guard.

Shawn Lauvao, OG, Arizona State – About the same value as Olsen but only plays guard.

Kavell Conner, OLB, Clemson – A slight reach but still a good pick.

George Selvie, DE, South Florida – Selvie has a ton of potential so I’d certainly be okay with him in the fifth.

Walter McFadden, CB, Auburn – A solid player for this late in the draft.

Clifton Geathers, DE, South Carolina – A bit of a reach.

Rahim Alem, DE, LSU – Also a bit of a reach like Geathers.

Just okay with:

Brandon Carter, OG, Texas Tech – This is a pretty big reach but offensive linemen go quick.

Sam Young, OT, Notre Dame – Another offensive lineman from Notre Dame that would be an ok pick for this late in the draft.

Kurt Coleman, SS, Ohio State – Coleman can also play corner.

Brian Jackson, CB, Oklahoma – Like Coleman he can play both corner and safety.

Roddrick Muckelroy, OLB, Texas – A big reach here.

Robert Johnson, FS, Utah – Another Utah player that I could see on the Colts.

Myron Rolle, SS, Florida State – There are a lot of defensive backs that I’d be ok with in the fifth round.

Unhappy with:

Armanti Edwards, WR, Appalacian State – I don’t have any florida players to fear here, but I just don’t think Edwards is going to make it in the NFL despite how cool his name is.

Pick 238, 240 and 246:

Want:

Shelley Smith, OL, Colorado State – At this point in the draft I’m pretty sure we’d have to reach for offensive linemen, but I’d really like it if Smith was still there.

David Reed, WR, Utah – I developed a man-crush on Reed for no real reason, but he’s the only receiver I’d want us to take in the draft because we really don’t even need one, unless of course we just got an absolute steal on somebody else.

George Johnson, DE, Rutgers – Good value for a late seventh round pick.

Chris Scott, OL, Tennessee – I really want this to happen, but I think he’ll already be gone by the time the Colts get to pick.

Chris Marinelli, OT, Stanford – Marinelli has a high football IQ and would be able to pick up the complicated Colts offesnse.

Nolan Carroll, CB, Maryland – Also plays safety.

Vince Oghobaase, DT, Duke – Good value for this point in the draft.

Chris Degeare, OL, Wake Forest – Plays both guard and tackle.

Adrian Tracy, OLB, William & Mary – Would be a decent backup.

Nate Collins, DT, Virginia – Would provide some needed depth.

Tony Washington, OT, Abilene Christian – I saw a mock with us taking him in the second round, which is just dumb. I would only be okay with him in the seventh round. No earlier.

Nick Polk, FS, Indiana – Good pick this late in the draft.

Jeff Byers, OL, USC – I hope Byers is still here because he could develop into a good lineman.

Antonio Coleman, OLB, Auburn – Could also play some DE.

Travis Ivey, DT, Maryland – Ivey is a big guy that would help stuff the run.

Happy with:

Chris Hawkins, CB, LSU – Hawkins could also play some safety.

Patrick Stoudamire, CB, Western Illinois – About as good as Hawkins but doesn’t have any safety experience.

Simoni Lawrence, OLB, Minnesota – Can play safety as well as linebacker.

James Ruffin, DE, Northern Iowa – Has been getting notice a little more lately.

Drew Davis, OT, Alabama – Hey, he has a National Championship ring.

Just okay with:

Larry Hart, LB, Central Arkansas – Can play both inside and outside linebacker.

Thomas Welch, OT, Vanderbilt – A smart player that could learn the Colts offense.

Mike McLaughlin, ILB, Boston College – We don’t need an inside linebacker as badly as outside but he’d be an okay pick here.

Chris Carter, WR, Cal Davis – He’s a wide receiver and his name is Chris Carter. Why not roll those dice?

Sam Shields, CB, Miami – He’d be a reach but it’s the seventh round and he’s worthy of being drafted.

Kyle McCarthy, SS, Notre Dame – Another reach, but definitely worht considering at the end of the seventh.

Joe Hawley, OL, UNLV – Hawley can play guard and center.

Matt Kopa, OT/DT, Stanford – Kopa can play on both the offensive line and the defensive line. It’s certainly worth consideration.

Adam Ulatoski, OL, Texas – Has slipped down draft boards lately, but still worth looking at. He can play guard and tackle.

Unhappy with:

brandon james, RB, florida – He’s not even good enough to get drafted so this would be detrimental.

Cameron Sheffield, DE, Troy – I saw a mock with us taking Sheffield. I feel like that would be a waste because we’d just be able to get him as an undrafted free agent instead.

6 Responses

  1. Once Polian comes down off his damn high horse and stop behaving like a petulant child. Then we’ll see whether or not he’s got the balls to really assess talent like many know he can. Instead of being an ass and blaming the O line for the loss in the Superbowl . You and lose as a team or doesn’t that relate with him ?

    Let me know what you think as to the merits of the following ? Just click on the link shown to view.

    Do You Ever Get The Feeling You’ve Seen This All Before ?

    Philly Cheesesteak Or Just Plain Philly ……….?

    I’ll be doing a piece on the EPL in due course , once up I’ll provide you with a link to it.

    Alan Parkins

  2. Wow! Impressive!!

  3. […] that we will have going on in the comments section. It should be a lot of fun.  I also put up my Colts Wish List a few days ago, so if you’re curious about what I want the Colts draft to look like I […]

  4. […] that we will have going on in the comments section. It should be a lot of fun.  I also put up my Colts Wish List a few days ago, so if you’re curious about what I want the Colts draft to look like I […]

  5. […] that we will have going on in the comments section. It should be a lot of fun.  I also put up my Colts Wish List a few days ago, so if you’re curious about what I want the Colts draft to look like I […]

  6. […] 2010 NFL Draft Live Blog – Day 1 Posted on April 22, 2010 by colts18 Ok after months of waiting, the 2010 NFL draft is finally here. At 7:30 ET Bryan’s Rams will be on the clock. At this point it seems that among the blog and mock draft world the Rams taking Sam Bradford is a pretty consensus opinion. They could still surprise people and take Ndamukong Suh or even trade out of the first pick, which there have been multiple rumors about. By 6ET I will be sitting here with my TV on ESPN and my Google Chrome window will have all sorts of tabs open, including the wish list I put together for my Colts. […]

Leave a Reply

