NCAA Men’s National Championship

Tonight in the Final of the 2010 NCAA Men’s Basketball National Tournament, the Butler Bulldogs take on the Duke Blue Devils. I’m going to go ahead and be honest and say that I don’t really care about this game. I’m cheering for the Bulldogs. It’d be a good story. They’re the David facing Goliath and they’re from Indianapolis (where the Championship is being played) and their campus is located about five miles from Lucas Oil Stadium (the venue in which the game is being held – also the home stadium for my Colts) and  it’s really just a straight shot down North Capitol Avenue to get there.

Duke is a 1-seed and Butler is a 5-seed. There hasn’t been a team lower than a five seed to win the National Championship since 1988 when Kansas did it as a 6-seed. According to CNBC’s Darren Rovell Butler spent less in total for “player expenses” than Duke did for each player. I got this little piece of information from and article on ESPN.com by Pat Forde. He captured everything I had planned on saying in the post rather nicely so I’m just going to go ahead and link you to it (click here) and leave you with my final thoughts about tonight.

No one in this country (other than Duke fans) likes Duke. Almost everyone in this country loves the underdog story, which is why there are parallels made with David and Goliath as well as Cinderella. Duke may have one of the biggest fan bases in the country but tonight everyone else will be cheering against them and you can bet that about 80% of the seats in Lucas Oil Stadium will be filled with fans cheering for the Bulldogs. Everything on paper and everything logical says that Duke will win the Championship tonight, but the great thing about sports is that you never know what’s going to happen until the game is played. “That’s why they play the game.”

If Butler can manage to play at the high level that they’ve played at for this entire tournament then they’ll win their first ever title in front of their home crowd and that town will go crazy. Plus, as a Colts fan, I have a soft spot in my heart for that city and I know that they could use a boost after losing the Super Bowl less than two short months ago. I say go Bulldogs. Who are you cheering for tonight?

3 Responses

  1. I won’t be watching but I’ll hope that Butler pulls it out.

  2. I agree with Classic. Won’t watch the game but hope Butler wins.

  3. I hope Butler wins, but I have a feeling Duke will blow them out of the water… They aren’t a 7 point favorite for nothing!

Leave a Reply

