Urby Needs to Calm Down

I rarely agree with a Florida Gator.  In fact, right now I’m having a very tough time coming up with even one time where it has happened.  That’s why I was surprised when I read a quote from Florida wide receiver, Deonte Thompson, in the Orlando Sentinel regarding Tim Tebow:

“You never know with Tim,” Thompson said. “He can bolt. You’ll think he’s running, but then he’ll just come up and pass it to you. You just have to be ready at all times. With Brantley, everything’s with rhythm, time. Like, you know what I mean, a real quarterback.”

Wow, Mr. Thompson.  I see exactly what you mean and that makes perfect sense.  I might not have alluded to him being a fake quarterback (well, I would have but if I were a Gator, I wouldn’t), but you get the idea.  Tim liked to run with the ball sometimes but  no one other than himself knew if he was going pull the ball down and take off or actually throw instead.  So it definitely makes sense that a pure-passer would be easier to play with.

Everyone saw it that way, right?  …Right?

No, that’s where wonder-boy Urban Meyer comes in.  He had to make a big scene and defend his players from the tyranny that is the Orlando Sentinel!  How dare that vile, nasty reporter take that horrible quote out of context and twist it around into something that would disgrace the Florida Gators?!  Nay, said Urban, he had to put a stop to that immediately.

And so he did.  Like this:

“You’re a bad guy, man. You’re a bad guy,” Meyer told Sentinel reporter Jeremy Fowler. “If that was my son we’d be going at it right now.”“I told you this five years ago – don’t mess with our players. Don’t do it – you did it,” Meyer said. “You do it one more time and the Orlando Sentinel’s not welcome here ever again. Is that clear? It’s yes or no.”

Fowler appeared surprised by Meyer’s advances.

“Urban, come on. Don’t make any threats. That’s fine. I’ll play by rules,” Fowler said. “I’ll play by the rules, but all I was doing is quoting the guy. I don’t think I was the only one.”

I mean, come on.  Talk about making a mountain out of a molehill.  What Deonte Thompson said was not a knock against Tebow.  What Sentinel reporter Jeremy Fowler quoted made perfect sense and was in no way “messing with one of the players.”

For a guy who quit his job last year in order to relieve some of the stress, this is an odd move.  A reporter reports a quote, so Urban confronts him in front of all his peers and gives him some sort of weird ultimatum.  Imagine if he decides to confront every reporter who has the audacity to quote one of his players.  He’ll have little time for coaching, that’s for sure.

I’m not sure what part of it prompted the “we’d be going at it” portion of his pointless tirade.

“You printed something that was true that my son said!  We’re fighting now!”  Can anyone else make sense of this?  I just can’t wrap my head around something this dumb.  I guess it’s not a surprise that Urby’s stress levels are through the roof now that Timmy Terrific is gone.

3 Responses

  1. Meyer’s estrogen level was unbalanced . That’s what tends to happen when a female is on her menstrual cycle along with the other problems that happens over that period of time. How else can you explain his asinine behavior ?

    Alan Parkins

    • Hahaha. Brilliant.

  2. colts 18

    Nick Saban will be sending him a packet of tampons as an early gift this year in the SEC .

    Alan Parkins

Leave a Reply

