Tiger’s Return

I’m in the process of getting over some sickness.  This wasn’t like a normal cold where you kind of feel bad for a little while but you can still function like a normal human.  This was one of those where you’ve been run over by a truck and all you want to do is curl up into a ball and cry until it’s over.  Needless to say, I’ve watched a lot of TV the past two days.

One thing I saw over and over, besides Ali Farokhmanesh’s “nerves of steel” three-pointer to sink Kansas, was Tiger Woods’ interview with ESPN’s Tom Rinaldi.  The first time I saw it, I watched with great interest.  The rest of the times…eh.

Then, another strange thing happened.

I agreed with Skip Bayless.  I never agree with Skip Bayless.  He’s got a weird hatred for soccer, he wants to eliminate kickers from football, he has stupid ideas all the time…I just don’t really like him.  I don’t change the channel when I see him like I do with Jim Rome, but I don’t like him nonetheless.

But this time, I’m afraid he was right when he said on Cold Pizza yesterday morning something like:  The whole thing seemed fake.  It seemed staged and it made me wonder what else he was hiding.

As much as I hate to admit it, I just can’t wrap my head around the fact that we know everything, which is probably a good thing.  We don’t need to know everything.  It’s a private thing that happened to a public figure.  I get that.  What I don’t like are the fabricated answers and the controlled attempt to get everyone back on his side.

Before last Thanksgiving, I was a huge Tiger fan.  He was one of my favorite athletes.  There was so much to love and not much to dislike.  His wonderful relationship with father was well documented and I liked that.  He was (maybe still is) one of the most dominant athletes in sports history.  He made me actually start caring about golf, something I never dreamed would happen.  Part of it was because of his good guy image.

Here is where I stand right now.  Obviously Tiger has never wronged me personally.  However, the reasons why I liked Tiger in the first place are no longer there.  So while I don’t hold a grudge against Tiger for his problems, those are his own, but I will hold my grudge against the false image he portrayed in the first place.  It was all false.

So what will I do on April 8th when Tiger tees off at Augusta?  Well, the simple answer is:  Nothing.  I won’t be watching.  I won’t be following online.  I won’t have Weller text me updates about his progress.

I’m sure I’ll see the headlines and it will be the top story on SportsCenter for a month, but I won’t go out of my way to see any of it.  I simply don’t care how he fares in this tournament or any tournament in the near future.  I’m not going to close the book on him completely but I don’t really know what he can do to gain me back as a fan.  Fake interviews where he rehashes the same old tired lines are not a good start, however.

It’s a touchy situation.  So many people were let down by him when all this news broke.  Some people stuck with him, which is fine;  some people turned on him, which is fine, also; and some people are like me and simply became apathetic.

I don’t think I’ll miss golf and I don’t think golf will miss me.  It’s simply my opinion on one of the most talked about sports stories of our generation.

5 Responses

  1. I plan on writing my own post about the return of Tiger. That way people can get two different view points on the whole thing, so I won’t comment on this from that perspective but I will add that Skip Bayless openly hates Tennessee. He’s a Vandy grad and absolutely hates the Vols. He’s said it on ESPN before and I didn’t like him before I heard him say that. Now I just flat out hate him. I thought I should add that to your list of reasons not to like him.

  2. I will watch Tiger. While I have no desire to listen to Tiger, I do want to watch him play golf. The sponsors who dropped him as a pitch man are right about the image thing. He no longer is appealing for selling anything. I don’t care if he is never interviewed again. But on the golf course, he is an athlete. If he can continue to play at a phenomenal level, I will watch him play golf. You can’t fake that.

  3. Tiger Woods is an icon. A phenomenal athlete that has dominated his sport. He can do things and create things with a golf club and ball that I can not even dream of. For that reason, I will continue to watch what he does and how he will define history. Once he catches Jack Nicklaus, he’ll be raising the bar every time he plays and wins. It will be a long time before the public is able to witness such golf skill over an extended period again. That being said, it is his golf skills that interest me, not his opinions or lifestyle. I’ll still be a fan.
    Who compares to him on this level? I am sure there are plenty. Cassius Clay (M. Ali) comes to mind. Womanizer, yes. Rejected his country. Yes. Phenomenal athlete, absolutely. Babe Ruth, womanizer, and alcoholic. Still love him for being the Babe. Think about it, they are humans with a particular skill that we admire. That’s not to say, we worship every word or action they have.

  4. Well, honestly I’ve never liked Tiger, there was something about his arrogance that got to me. Also while working at Pebble Beach I did meet him once, and we’ll just say that he was less than friendly. I can’t blame him, but at the same time it’s not like there were hoards of fans there, he was playing in the offseason, and bought out an hour’s worth of tee times to get a round in with a couple guys I didn’t know… Ever since that day in 2004, I’ve rooted against him. I think you inspired a Pebble Beach Stories Part IV, so I won’t say anymore!

  5. […] Agassi) they were “private thing(s) that happened to a public figure” as Bryan said in his post about Tiger’s return. They didn’t kill anyone -like OJ Simpson- or anything -like Michael Vick- nor did they rape […]

Leave a Reply

