WMD – March Madness

No, not Weapons of Mass Destruction. This obviously stands for Weller’s Musing and Divination. I have no idea if this will become a frequent type of post or not, but this one will be similar to the Bracketology that Joe Lunardi does for ESPN. And of course by similar, I mean that I will be doing exactly what he does: predicting the field of 65 and their seedings in each region. Don’t fool yourself though, Mr. Lunardi knows significantly more about college basketball than I do. In fact, I haven’t hardly followed college basketball at all this year but this seemed like a fun idea and thought I’d give it a shot. Feel free to tear it apart:

Midwest South
1 Kansas Syracuse 1
16 South Dakota/Ark. Pine-Bluff Quinnipiac 16
8 Georgia Tech Siena 8
9 Missouri Rhode Island 9
5 Wisconsin Temple 5
12 florida Cornell 12
4 Tennessee Vanderbilt 4
13 UTEP Seton Hall 13
6 Texas Brigham Young 6
11 Louisville Dayton 11
3 Villanova Georgetown 3
14 Wofford Weber St 14
7 Oklahoma St Michigan State 7
10 San Diego St Clemson 10
2 Purdue West Virginia 2
15 UC Santa Barbara Vermont 15
West East
1 Kentucky Duke 1
16 Belmont Lehigh 16
8 Ohio State Gonzaga 8
9 Florida State Utah State 9
5 Northern Iowa Xavier 5
12 St. Mary’s Kent State 12
4 Texas A&M Butler 4
13 Oakland Wichita State 13
6 California Maryland 6
11 UNLV Connecticut 11
3 Baylor Pittsburgh 3
14 Murray St Sam Houston St 14
7 Wake Forest Richmond 7
10 UAB Old Dominion 10
2 Kansas State New Mexico 2
15 Western Kentucky Coastal Carolina 15

,

Midwest South
1 Kansas Syracuse 1
16 South Dakota/Ark. Pine-Bluff Quinnipiac 16
8 Georgia Tech Siena 8
9 Missouri Rhode Island 9
5 Wisconsin Temple 5
12 florida Cornell 12
4 Tennessee Vanderbilt 4
13 UTEP Seton Hall 13
6 Texas Brigham Young 6
11 Louisville Dayton 11
3 Villanova Georgetown 3
14 Wofford Weber St 14
7 Oklahoma St Michigan State 7
10 San Diego St Clemson 10
2 Purdue West Virginia 2
15 UC Santa Barbara Vermont 15
West East
1 Kentucky Duke 1
16 Belmont Lehigh 16
8 Ohio State Gonzaga 8
9 Florida State Utah State 9
5 Northern Iowa Xavier 5
12 St. Mary’s Cornell 12
4 Texas A&M Butler 4
13 Oakland Wichita State 13
6 California Maryland 6
11 UNLV Connecticut 11
3 Baylor Pittsburgh 3
14 Murray St Sam Houston St 14
7 Wake Forest Richmond 7
10 UAB Old Dominion 10
2 Kansas State New Mexico 2
15 Western Kentucky Coastal Carolina 15

9 Responses

  1. I personally think the midwest region would be incredibly intense… Kansas, Mizzou, Tennessee and florida all in the same region? And not only that but in the same half of the region! If florida managed to upset Wisconsin and Mizzou beat Georgia Tech then that second round would be crazy!

  2. First of all, I love that you did not capitalize “florida.”

    Didn’t you correctly pick all 65 teams last year? Did you correctly pick all the seedings too? Either way, I remember being supremely impressed with your field of 65 predictions last year. Hopefully putting it up on the internet won’t jinx you. hahaha

    What made you select Duke as a 1 seed over Purdue? Just curious…The ACC is so weak this year, so it will be iteresting to see how Duke does against tougher competition. I think Wichita State will be a sleeper team with the potential to go pretty far. Seven Big XII teams…a very real possibility. I will be excited to see how many teams we get in the tournament. The Cowboys definitely earned some serious credibility by beating us yesterday.

    The possibiliy of my Jayhawks playing mizzery in the second round would be INTENSE, as would be Tennessee and florida in the second round in the SAME REGION!!! Hopefully, Kansas would be able to beat the Vols this time around…You and I might have to agree not to speak that day :-)

    Tomorrow is the first day of March!!! Get excited!!! Love the post! Gets me in the mood for the Big Dance! That’s not to hard to do though…haha

    • Haha, thanks for the comment, and anytime you want to, you are more than welcome to write for us!

      As for my predictions last year, I predicted 63 of the 65 if my memory serves me correctly, but I didn’t predict the seedings… and I’ll definitely be putting up another set of predictions for this before the actual dance.

      As for picking Duke over Purdue, it ended up coming down to the fact that Duke has a higher RPI right now, and believe it or not, Duke actually has the 5th best strength of schedule in the country right now.

    • Correction, I got 62 of the 65 right last year… I think it was the year before that when I got 63 of 65…

      https://classic17.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/last-minute-field-of-65-prediction/

      That’s a link to my predictions from last year.

  3. colts 18

    A couple of weeks ago the favorites for the NCAA Tournament seemed clear cut . Not so much now as seeds in the rankings are falling faster than flies that’ve been sprayed with a deterrent.

    Alan Parkins

  4. […] draft in the entire month of February. Like last time, I will be taking into account the input of the commenters for this one, and will do the same for the next one. I know you’re excited. I will again be […]

  5. Yikes! The Midwest Region will be total March Madness if your picks come to fruition! Oklahoma State handed the Jayhawks their hats on Saturday. Tennessee is the only other team to master KU this year plus Mizzou and Purdue! I may not be able to sleep at night!

    The West bracket is no slouch either. K-State is playing very good ball. It would be great to see a K-State Wildcat/UK Wildcat game!

    Nice job Weller!

  6. I’m excited! I never get too into the rankings, so your guess is probably better than mine! That’s amazing you got 63-65 right last year! I’m going to have to see who you pick before I submit my picks in the office pool!

  7. Egads, Weller! Based on your predictions for the Midwest, I think your WMD title is fitting! KU will need weapons of mass destruction just to make it through that bracket!!!! OSU and Tennessee were our only losses for the season! I felt bad it took me so long to read this article but now I almost wish I hadn’t! I kind of hope your predictions don’t pan out quite as well this year for the Jayhawks sake!

Leave a Reply

