2010 NFL Mock Draft IX (12/10)

Via the request of a reader, I am going to be upping the frequency of my mock drafts. You might be asking yourself, what could have changed in the past week that would cause you to change much -if anything at all- from Mock Draft VIII? To that question I have three answers:

1. The draft order, which will likely be changing every week from now through week 17. Then it will likely change again after the Conference Championships.

2. I will take into account what has been suggested by the commenters in the last mock draft, both the ones that agreed and the ones that disagreed.

3. Now that I will be putting up a new mock draft (almost) weekly, I will play around with some different ideas and see what kinds of reactions I get. When I do this I will try to draw attention to them (as well as the picks influenced by the commenters) with a few comments at then end of the post.

I will again be determining my draft order based off of Bryan’s awesome, weekly post that shows exactly what the draft order would be if the season were to end today. To see how things have progressed with my 2010 mock drafts take a look back at IIIIIIIVVVI, VII and VIII. Here is the ninth installment:

Pick Team Player Pos School
1 Cleveland Ndamukong Suh DE Nebraska
2 St Louis Eric Berry FS Tennessee
3 Tampa Bay Gerald McCoy DT Oklahoma
4 Detroit Russell Okung OT Oklahoma State
5 Washington Bryan Bulaga OT Iowa
6 Kansas City Taylor Mays SS USC
7 Buffalo Sam Bradford QB Oklahoma
8 Oakland brandon spikes ILB florida
9 Seattle C.J. Spiller RBC Clemson
10 *Denver carlos dunlap DE florida
11 San Francisco Trent Williams OT Oklahoma
12 Houston Brandon LaFell WR LSU
13 Tennessee Brandon Graham DE Michigan
14 **San Francisco Mike Iupati OG Idaho
15 Pittsburgh Terrence Cody DT Alabama
16 Atlanta Jerry Hughes OLB TCU
17 NY Jets Dez Bryant WR Oklahoma State
18 Baltimore Rolando McClain ILB Alabama
19 Miami Charles Brown OT USC
20 Jacksonville Colt McCoy QB Texas
21 New England tim tebow Misc florida
22 NY Giants Jared Odrick DT Penn State
23 Green Bay Jonathan Dwyer RB Georgia Tech
24 Arizona Ricky Sapp OLB Clemson
25 Philadelphia Sean Weatherspoon OLB Missouri
26 Dallas Anthony Davis OT Rutgers
27 ***Seattle Jimmy Clausen QB Notre Dame
28 Cincinnati Jermaine Gresham TE Oklahoma
29 San Diego Corey Wootton DE Northwestern
30 Minnesota Greg Hardy DE Mississippi
31 New Orleans Marvin Austin DT North Carolina
32 Indianapolis Marshawn Gilyard WR Cincinnati
* Chicago traded their first-round pick along with their 2009 first- and third-round selections, and quarterback Kyle Orton to Denver for quarterback Jay Cutler and a 2009 fifth-round selection.
** Carolina traded their first-round pick to San Francisco for San Francisco’s 2009 second-round selection (43rd overall, used to select Everette Brown) and their 2009 fourth-round selection (111th overall, used to select Mike Goodson).
*** Denver traded their first-round pick to Seattle for Seattle’s 2009 second-round selection (37th overall, used to select Alphonso Smith).

Now for a few comments:

  • I have the Brown taking Ndamukong Suh this time around because there were two comments last time about it. The first saying it’s who the Brown should take, and the second saying that it’s where Suh deserves to be drafted. The Browns already have Shaun Rogers, and I don’t think Suh is quite big enough to play a 3-4 nose tackle, so I have him being drafted as a defensive end. I want to point that out so people don’t think I’m crazy for not knowing he plays defensive tackle. I’m still not super convinced it’s the right pick, but around here we like to give the readers what they want.
  • I have Eric Berry going second to the Rams for a few reasons. The first being because I think that he is THE best player in this year’s draft, and if you disagree then I’ll see you out back in five minutes where we can discuss the matter with our fists. I’m kidding, I won’t fight you… However I will get this Weller to do it for me instead. The second reason is (despite Bryan wanting the Rams to take a quarterback) because I think the Rams’ defensive secondary sucks. Granted, most all of their team sucks -barring Steven Jackson, Donnie Jones, Josh Brown, and a few others- but I think this would be a good move for the Rams.
  • Michael was happy with the Redskins taking Russell Okung last time, so with him off the board I had Washington take Bryan Bulaga, who I believe is the second best offensive tackle for this draft. I’m curious to see with Okung gone if Michael still thinks that taking an OT is still the right move. I could be persuaded either way, because I’m on the fence right now anyhow.
  • C.J. Spiller went to Seattle again, which Tim was happy with last time so I had them take him again.
  • I wasn’t real sure what to do with Houston at 12 so I gave them LaFell. Him lining up across from Andre Johnson is a scary thought for this Colts fan.
  • Yes, I have that patriots taking tebow at 21. I’m doing this for several reasons, the first of which is that I’ve seen it being done on at least two other mock drafts (here and here) and one of them was a site centered around the new england patriots draft. The next reason is because I hate tebow and I hate the patriots so it’s a match made in heaven. Other than that it’s really just because I think it’s funny.
  • The Eagles are taking Sean Weatherspoon, which would make it two years in a row that they’ve taken a Missouri Tiger in the first round.
  • With the Seahawks second pick in the first round, I still have them taking Jimmy Clausen. Tim mentioned in the comments that he didn’t like this pick but the alternate solution he gave was to draft Mike Iupati or another offensive lineman and Iupati was gone and Selvish Capers or Jon Asamoah I feel would be a big reach. Tim, feel free to comment on this pick again and let me know if you have any other suggestions.
  • Finally, I have Mardy Gilyard going to my Colts. I want to first say that I don’t think this is the smartest selection nor do I think this is where the Colts will actually go with their first round pick but I saw this on another mock draft and I’d be lying if I said my mouth didn’t start to water. Yes, we may need some help at linebacker (Bruce Carter, Sergio Kindle, and Navorro Bowman were all still available) and yes, we definitely need some help at offensive tackle (Selvish Capers and Jon Asamoah were still on the board) but our defense has played quite well this year and the o-line has only allowed Peyton to be sacked ten times so far (the fewest in the league) and we desperately need a spark in the kick/punt return game and Gilyard can certainly provide that. And just think about all the different possible packages and combinations an offense could run with Reggie Wayne, Anthony Gonzalez, Pierre Garçon, Austin Collie, Dallas Clark, Joseph Addai, Donald Brown, and now Mardy Gilyard and then maybe even Hank Baskett. I said it last year, that this team is built around Peyton Manning and I don’t think one defensive player is going to make as much of a difference as if you were to give Peyton another great weapon, and I don’t think he’s ever had a weapon that would be the kind of threat the Gilyard would be. Would this offense be unstoppable? Yes, I think so.

Pick Team Player Pos School
1 Cleveland Ndamukong Suh DE Nebraska
2 St Louis Eric Berry FS Tennessee
3 Tampa Bay Gerald McCoy DT Oklahoma
4 Detroit Russell Okung OT Oklahoma State
5 Washington Bryan Bulaga OT Iowa
6 Kansas City Taylor Mays SS USC
7 Buffalo Sam Bradford QB Oklahoma
8 Oakland brandon spikes ILB florida
9 Seattle C.J. Spiller RBC Clemson
10 *Denver carlos dunlap DE florida
11 San Francisco Trent Williams OT Oklahoma
12 Houston Brandon LaFell WR LSU
13 Tennessee Brandon Graham DE Michigan
14 **San Francisco Mike Iupati OG Idaho
15 Pittsburgh Terrence Cody DT Alabama
16 Atlanta Jerry Hughes OLB TCU
17 NY Jets Dez Bryant WR Oklahoma State
18 Baltimore Rolondo McClain ILB Alabama
19 Miami Charles Brown OT USC
20 Jacksonville Colt McCoy QB Texas
21 New England tim tebow Misc florida
22 NY Giants Jared Odrick DT Penn State
23 Green Bay Jonathan Dwyer RB Georgia Tech
24 Arizona Ricky Sapp OLB Clemson
25 Philadelphia Sean Weatherspoon OLB Missouri
26 Dallas Anthony Davis OT Rutgers
27 ***Seattle Jimmy Clausen QB Notre Dame
28 Cincinnati Jermaine Gresham TE Oklahoma
29 San Diego Corey Wootton DE Northwestern
30 Minnesota Greg Hardy DE Mississippi
31 New Orleans Marvin Austin DT North Carolina
32 Indianapolis Marshawn Gilyard WR Cincinnati

28 Responses

  1. I hate seeing any mock that has Cleveland picking a QB. All that will do is ruin another wrong signal callers career. Quinn is capable and deserves another year to build players around him. Plus, Quinn wont cost much either now that Mangini screwed him out of his playing bonus. Get rid of DA and draft a QB later rounds.

    • I’ll agree with that. I’ve always said that I give players four years before determining if they’re a success or bust (unless it’s blatantly obvious) so I can see why you would want to give Quinn another year to prove himself. However, that’s not necessarily what I see the Browns actually doing, and on the whole I’m not solely doing these drafts based on what I think the teams should do, but also what I think they will do.

  2. Berry or Suh should be the pick.

    • You’re the third person saying Suh should be the first pick for the Browns so I’ll stick with it. As I mentioned above- around here we like to give the readers what they want.

  3. Thank you for your comments on Tebow and the Patriots. I am a Pats fan and I am always interested in mock drafts, but don’t always know which ones to give much credit to. Due to your comments about why you put Tebow with the Pats I now know that I shouldn’t bother with your mocks as they are not based solely on intelligence.

    While I cannot argue with you about whether or not you should be a Pats fan, I should point out that if you want to be taken seriously, you shouldn’t let your personal feelings for other football teams be reflected in this format. Quite disappointing, but at least now I have one less mock draft to sift through if I am trying to get an educated idea of where many of the college players may fall in the real draft.

    • Yes! People like you are the EXACT reason I let my “personal feelings for other football teams be reflected in this format.” I love getting fans from teams I hate to bash me. It makes me feel like I’m truly accomplishing something, because let’s be real, anything that upsets a rival team’s fans (when related to sports) is -and should be- something that makes me happy.

      But please note that I (typically) only do it when I have a legit defense for someone like you. In this case it is that ANOTHER PATS FAN has tebow being drafted BY THE PATS! So if you’re going to disregard my mock and not the pats fan’s mock then I think that in itself shows who truly is the one with an educated idea on these matters. But by all means, if you feel the need to cross this off the list of mocks that you will “sift through” I have no complaints. In fact, I feel that the fewer pats fans that visit my site the more pure and untarnished it is because around here we don’t like cheaters.

      I feel I must add that if there are any pats fans that would like to provide intelligent and constructive input I will make an exception for you, but only for the good of my mock drafts, not because it means I will like you any more.

    • Weatherspoon is the guy for the Pats. I suspect he’s better than the bottom of the round.

      There again, why draft defence? Surely the pats new D is just the Offence making their 4th Down. Tebow would be just the guy for making all those 4th and three decisions look sensible……..

  4. Report for drug testing,,are you serious Tebow to NE ..evidently you did not watch them get their linch handed to them the last 2 games and by a mediocure miami qb to boot. Nothing but oline and dline the first day draft..The best player in the draft and number 1 pick is Suh you are correct a man amoung boys..I see NE taking Wooten in the first round . They have no rush at all since the great move in trading Seymour.Al Davis will trade for Mays because AL is really dead and cement head matt millen is really doing the draft

    • Ted, I appreciate your input (especially the Al Davis remarks) and I wouldn’t be surprised to see any of the things you mentioned be the actual things that happen. I won’t be taking trades into account for my draft though, simply because it would greatly complicate them. And as I mentioned above, I only have tebow going to the pats because I saw it happening on other mock drafts, otherwise it really wouldn’t have even crossed my mind.

  5. Of the many reaches in this draft the worst by far is the Broncos. The Broncos pick is crazy! Why do they need another overrated DE out of Florida (see MArcus Thomas and Jarvis Moss). A more sensible pick with better defensive players still on the board is Rolando (Not Rolondo) McClain ILB out of Alabama. With Andra Davis aging, the talent and inteligence of MClain would be invaluable to the Denver Defense. Denver has struggled against the run this year and McClain is a rookie who could improve that Defense immediately.

    Other options for Denver
    Joe Haden (would be a great complement for Bailey)
    Terrence Cody (Need a Nose Tackle Badly
    Dez Bryant (McDaniels LOVEs offensive players, and Marshall might not be back)

    Other Things
    Reaches
    Bulaga
    LaFell
    Dunlap
    Graham
    Odrick
    Austin

    • Jake, I appreciate the comment, (especially pointing out the typo in Rolando’s name, which I just edited)) I will most definitely take into account your thoughts on the Broncos pick next week. Though, I must point out that if you think dunlap is a reach then joe haden most certainly is whom I see as a late first round pick at best… also, I’m not completely sure I fully understand your list at the end of you comment; are those are selections that you thought were reaches based on where I had them?

  6. While I think that Hardy is a pretty good DE I do have concerns about his various injuries. Also, I am not sure which side he played at Ole Miss. Did he play LDE or RDE? Either way, if I am picking a DE for the Vikings in round 1 I would pick Allen Bailey DE/DT Miami. This kid is a beast and has tremendous upside.

    • Hmmm, I don’t see Allen Bailey as a first round talent. I can’t honestly say that I’ve seen many of his games but from what I’ve read and seen, he’s projected as more of a third round guy, and I definitely don’t see him going before Greg Hardy. As for which side Hardy plays on, walterfootball.com projects him as a right end, but according to scout.com he started in at least nine games as the left end, so he should be able to play either side in the NFL. Most players are fully capable of making the switch, especially those as talented as Hardy.

  7. Washington is in desperate need of OL help. Maybe we can trade down and get another late round pick as well as a OL since Okung is gone.

    • I really don’t think Bulaga is that much of a reach and I wouldn’t risk trading down too far if you’re still hoping to get him, but I don’t think I’m going to be working any trades into my mock drafts, it’s just too complicated… but if we do our fan mock again, I’ll leave trading down up to you.

  8. Wow, that John guy is really a buttwipe. What a holier than thou attitude.
    I am coming to believe, as many others do, that Suh will be selected first, regardless of who picks first. There are a couple of reasons for this. First, Suh’s talent level is truly rare. I can’t remember ever seeing a college DT that impressed me this much. Ever. Thinking back, I have can only remember Warren Sapp at Miami looking close to as dominant. The consensus is that Suh will clearly be the best DL in the NFL soon, with multiple Pro Bowls being almost a certainty. So this alone should dictate his selection.
    Now one might say that St. Louis and Cleveland both needs QBs, and that teams take the chance at QB in the first round when they need one. But if you take Suh first, look what is still available with the first pick of the 2nd round. Maybe not Bradford of Locker or Claussen. But Snead, Tebow, Mallett, Pike, McCoy and a couple of others, could be there. Some of those absolutely will be available. And is there really much difference between these five and the three guys that are sure to be gone? I don’t think so. None of the top guys are sure things. Any of them could bust. So you can take Suh, and get a foundation player and STILL get your QB.
    Ultimately, he is so exceptional that it will be impossible to pass on him. I don’t see this changing because of the combine or anything else. That Texas game was one of the greatest performances in the history of college football. If you are the GM, you gotta take him. Having guys like this on your team gives you a chance to win Super Bowls

    • Gino, I’m a Rams fan and I agree with every word you just said.

  9. hey,

    I gotta disagree with miami’s pick. There’s no way they take a tackle with jake long and vernon carey already signed to 5-yr deals. I really hope they go with either dez, benn, cody, mclain or spikes

    • I see your point with Long and Carey, but the other players you said you wished they’d draft instead, four were already off the board (Dez, Cody, McClain and spikes) and Benn would be a huge reach to take in the first round… they could probably wait to get him in the second or maybe even third.

  10. I agree with Gino. Suh is a real difference-maker,& I dont think whoever is #1 can pass him up in favor of a QB, no matter what their needs might be. This is not a crop of world-beaters at quarterback in this draft, after all.
    BTW–I dont think Spikes will go ahead of McClain.

    • Hey, I’m right there with you; I don’t think spikes deserves to go ahead of McClain either and to be perfectly honest, (in my personal opinion) I might take Sean Weatherspoon over both, but I didn’t think Heyward-Bey deserved to go before Crabtree last year, and look who I have making the spikes pick. Coincidence? I think not.

  11. I wouldn’t mind seeing Tebow go to the Pats but I think it’s unrealistic. The Jaguars aren’t going to pass up on local hero Tim Tebow, in a time where they haven’t sold out a single game despite being 7-6. McCoy is the better quarterback, but Tebow would work in The Jags system, giving them two running threats and taking some of the Load off of MJD. The Pats would prefer McCoy over Tebow anyway, but my guess is that they would be more inclined to look on the other side of the ball. (Hardy, Weatherspoon etc.) While Tebow to the Pats would be the best thing to come out of a draft since Brady Quinn went to the Browns (Taking both of them out of the playoff picture for years) it is highly unlikely, and mock drafts are supposed to PREDICt the Draft (and mess with the results a little too)

    • In some of my past mock drafts I had tebow going to the Jags, but there have been quotes from the GM and other high-ups for the Jags that have specifically said they won’t be drafting to raise ticket sales… and I wasn’t having the pats draft tebow as a quarterback, but more of a utility.

  12. Every coin has two sides.Of course,every person has his or her own opinion.It is objective.While I don’t think that Allen Bailey as a first round talent. I can’t honestly say that I’ve seen many of his games but from what I’ve read and seen, he’ projected as more of a third round guy, and I definitely don’t see him going before Greg Hardy.

  13. No corners going at all in round 1?

    • Who would it be if there was one?

  14. […] come up with something for one of us to write tonight. Later this week I will be putting up a new mock draft and will be taking another look at the NFL playoff situation while Bryan will be putting up another […]

  15. […] the holiday season started it got a little difficult. Like last time I will be taking into account what the readers commented on with the last mock draft. As usual, I will be determining my draft order based off of Bryan’s […]

Leave a Reply

