WaB’s Annual Hockey Post

I think Weller had a post in the works for everyone, but as it turns out, someone broke into his car and then he lost power.  Priorities, I guess.  Anyway, since my St. Louis Blues dominated squeaked out a 1-0 win over the hated Detroit Red Wings tonight, I’m in a hockey mood.

One horrible thing about being a hockey fan is that it’s never on TV.  Ever.  Even Blues games, which are local here, get blacked out due to some stupid squabble between Mediacom and Fox Sports.  I’ve seen maybe six games this year.  (Side note to Gary Bettman – Hard to get the sport back to prominence when no one can see it!)  Horrible TV contract aside, I actually got to watch the Blues play the Islanders a few weeks ago.  I was treated to this gem from David Perron:

I’m not sure what’s best about that goal, the ultra-difficult initial move, Perron’s ultra-cool “I do this all the time” reaction or announcer Darren Pang’s ultra-delayed reaction.

Usually the first thing I do when the Blues do something good is text my friend who is a Blackhawk’s fan.  All this one said was “Perron, Goal of the Year.”  He agreed, it was a very good goal.  Then, a little over a week later I received a very similar text that read, “Versteeg, Goal of the Year.”  Visual evidence below:

Certainly a very good goal in its own right.  Then, just three days later, I received another text that said, “Toews, Goal of the Year.”  More video:

Certainly not the first time nor will it be the last time that Jonathan Toews makes a defenseman look silly.  This is where I get lost.  Which goal is actually the best?  All three are fantastic goals.  So I leave it up to you, dear reader.  Make your voice heard.

5 Responses

  1. I voted for Perron… he went between the legs and then made the goal despite the goalie taking out his legs also after ward it looked like the goalie was literally trying to get something out of his eye, which is funny… Instant win.

    The second one didn’t really impress me at all.

    The third was cool, but only because he controlled the puck with only one hand on the stick and because he was parallel to the ground at the end of it.

  2. I liked Perron’s goal as the between the skates, and doouble juking a defender before defeating the best the goalie had to offer was extraordinary.

    The 2nd goal choice was a distant third.
    The 3rd goal was very good and displayed great stick handling.

  3. I must admit, Perron’s is sick. Versteeg’s was so much cooler live, watching the replay doesn’t do much justice. But I give it some bonus points for being shorthanded.

    I went with Captain Serious, because, well, you don’t mess with Captain Serious.

    Love,
    Jet

  4. Bryan,

    We both know of Toews’ goal from his rookie season against Colorado (here is a link for a refresher, I like to watch it as often as possible – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6e-UmeAqpx4).

    But somehow we both missed this dandy against our favorite team to hate from last season: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHdOfrEQ2Cg&feature=related

    Are we looking at one a year from the Captain?

  5. Damnit. That above link for the Colorado goal doesn’t send you to youtube because of the stupid parentheses (that’s a hard work to spell) at the end of it. You can still watch it if you click the video that appears when you hold your mouse over the link.

Leave a Reply

