College Football Week 2

Remember those good feelings that the Big 12 had after Week 1?  Forget them.

The Big 12 looked like the ACC out there.

I was at Mizzou’s squeaker of a victory, so I haven’t had a chance to watch a whole lot of the games.  I did get to watch the first half of Tennessee’s debacle before heading off to a tailgate.  Weller may have some sort of report on that later, unless he’s in an alcohol induced coma which is a a very real possibility.  Anyway, let’s get to whatever I was able to deduce from looking at box scores…

As I said before, the Big 12 had a big time hangover.

#5 Oklahoma State lost to Houston 45-35

Iowa crushed their in-state rival Iowa State 35-3

Colorado was embarrassed by Toledo on Thursday night 54-38

Kansas State lost to Louisiana-Lafayette 17-15 the day after Bill Snyder signed a contract extension.

#2 Texas struggled in the first half at Wyoming (why are they at Wyoming anyway?) before turning it on in the second half and earning a 41-10 victory.

My #25 Mizzou Tigers were lackluster at best during their 27-20 come-from-behind win against Bowling Green.

Basically, it was not a banner day for the Big 12 as a whole.

Around the other leagues…

Michigan upset #18 Notre Dame.  I told Weller this would happen last night, but I didn’t have the cajones to pick it.  Should’ve gone with my gut.

-UCLA upends Tennessee.  If Tennessee had a quarterback who wasn’t named Jonathan Crompton, they would be good.

-#3 USC beat #8 Ohio State 18-15 in Columbus.  I’ll be honest, I didn’t think this game would be that close.  I figured USC would run away with it like they did last year, but they didn’t.  I watched the final couple minutes from a bar after the Mizzou game and it looked like the Joe McKnight show to me.

Georgia fended off South Carolina 41-37.  I got a text that said this was one of the most entertaining games my friend had ever seen.  I can’t say because I haven’t seen any highlights.  What I wonder is how SC scored 37 points against Georgia and only 7 against NC State.  Which one was the fluke?  Consider me not sold on Georgia.

-Also consider me not impressed with LSU.  They had to work entirely too hard to beat a Washington team who went 0-12 last year and they only beat a mediocre Vanderbilt team 23-9.  LSU teams of the past few years would have rolled over these two teams without breaking a sweat.

That’s about all I can guess from box scores.  Feel free to add anything in the comments.  I’ll be heading to St. Louis for the Braves-Cardinals game tomorrow so be sure to look for me on TV.

One Response

  1. I looked for you. All they showed was Cardinal fans. They did not focus on fans with Braves jerseys on. Go figure…

Leave a Reply

