Fenway Park

As you may have noticed, I have been missing since last Thursday.  I’ve been up in Boston trying to find a job.  Lucky me, huh?

Hope you’ve been enjoying Weller’s links in my absence.

I realize that Matt Holliday, Freddy Sanchez, and Cliff Lee have now all found new teams but that’s not what I want to talk about.  The last night I was in Boston, I had on of those nights where the stars aligned and I everything went perfect.  Follow the jump to find out what happened. (Suspense!)

I was in Boston because I volunteered to work a booth for IAAM’s History Committee.  That allowed me to talk to people in positions close to minor and professional sports leagues.  Hopefully it worked.  During the last night of the conference they have what is called “Fun Night”.  This year’s fun night was held at Jillian’s Lucky Strike which just so happens to be right down the street from Fenway Park.  Since I hadn’t been able to get tickets while I was in town my plan was to go around the outside of the stadium and take pictures and then go bowl.  This is where my luck started.

I began walking down Lansdowne Street so I could get a closer look at the back of the Monster.  I pulled out my camera and snapped a picture.  That’s when I heard a voice:

“What are you doing?”

“Taking pictures of the outside of Fenway because I can’t go in,” I said.

“Oh, you wanna go in?” he asked.

“Well…yeah, I do.”  At this point I figured he was going to say something like, “I’ve got a seat for $300” or something like that which I could not afford and wouldn’t pay even if I could afford it.

“Have fun.”  He pulled a ticket out of his pocket and handed it to me.  I was dumbfounded and he walked off.  I think I mumbled something of a thank you.  I hope so, anyway.  That will teach me to be skeptical.

Obviously, I was excited.  I walked around and took a few more pictures before the anticipation got the best of me and I went inside.  I didn’t even know who the Sox were playing and I didn’t really care.  I was in Fenway Park.

To my amazement, my seat was just to the left of home plate from the pitcher’s mound.   It was the closest I’ve sat at a baseball game in quite a while.  I made friends with the Bostonians who were sitting next to me because being at a baseball game by oneself is not always that exciting.  (This time it would have been, but I made friends anyway.  Plus, I like their accents.)

All I wanted to see what a home run over the Monster.  I got my wish in the first inning.  Thank you, Dustin Pedroia.

Then, around the 5th inning I considered buying a hot dog.  Before I could do so the two guys I made friends with earlier offered me part of their pizza because they didn’t finish it.  I accepted.  This meant I got a $100 ticket and dinner for free, plus a homer over the Monster.  My night couldn’t get any better.

The Sox ended up winning 8-2 and there were no other homers or amazing strokes of good luck, though I recounted my tale at the hotel bar later and someone bought me a drink for it.  I guess that counts.

Apparently, I had been to Fenway when I was four, though I don’t remember it at all.  This was one of those baseball meccas that I really wanted to visit before it was gone.  Before I went, Fenway had been compared to Wrigley Field.  I can see the comparisons with all the bars and nightlife around the ballparks but there were some very distinct differences.

For starters, Fenway was much harder to get to.  The streets much narrower and much more crowded than around Wrigley.  In Boston, the fans seemed to focus more on the game while at Wrigley the focus stayed more with the party.  The ushers were also much nicer at Fenway.

So there you have it.  I got to go to Fenway Park in Boston for free and got a free dinner as well.  All in all, it was a very good night.

2 Responses

  1. Baseballbriefs.com tracking back Fenway Park…

    Baseballbriefs.com tracking back Fenway Park…

  2. […] also got a free trip to Fenway Park, which was […]

Leave a Reply

