2010 NFL Mock Draft III (07/01)

Here is the third mock draft for 2010. In case you haven’t caught on, I’ve been doing them on the first of each month. This time around I determined the draft order by using the results from the poll that I put up with my last mock draft. That took care of the first six picks because people submitted other votes as Denver and Cleveland. After the I used more recent Super Bowl XLIV odds to put the remaining 26 teams in order. I again have the Steelers repeating as Super Bowl champs. Let me know what you think about the draft in a comment.

Rnd Pick Team Player Pos School
1 1 Oakland Russell Okung OT Oklahoma State
1 2 Detroit Ndamukong Suh DE Nebraska
1 3 St Louis Sam Bradford QB Oklahoma
1 4 Kansas City Trent Williams OT Oklahoma
1 5 Seattle* Gerald McCoy DT Oklahoma
1 6 Cleveland Sergio Kindle OLB Texas
1 7 Cincinnati Eric Berry S Tennessee
1 8 Tampa Bay Brandon Spikes LB Florida
1 9 Buffalo Terrence Cody DT Alabama
1 10 Miami Taylor Mays S Southern California
1 11 Seattle Trevard Lindley CB Kentucky
1 12 San Francisco Colt McCoy QB Texas
1 13 NY Jets Brandon LaFell WR Louisiana State
1 14 Jacksonville Jermaine Gresham TE Oklahoma
1 15 Washington Ciron Black OG Louisiana State
1 16 Houston Arrelious Benn WR Illinois
1 17 Packers Greg Hardy DE Mississippi
1 18 Arizona Marvin Austin DT North Carolina
1 19 Tennessee Sergio Redner OG Virginia Tech
1 20 Atlanta Marshwan Gilyard WR Cincinnati
1 21 New Orleans Jonathan Dwyer RB Georgia Tech
1 22 Denver** Jerry Hughes DE/OLB TCU
1 23 Baltimore George Selvie DE South Florida
1 24 San Francisco*** Geno Atkins DT Georgia
1 25 Minnesota Dez Bryant WR Oklahoma State
1 26 Dallas Bryan Bulaga OT Iowa
1 27 Indianapolis Sean Weatherspoon OLB Missouri
1 28 San Diego Brandon Lang DE Troy
1 29 Philadelphia Rolondo McClain LB Alabama
1 30 New England Rennie Curran OLB Georgia
1 31 NY Giants Rico McCoy LB Tennessee
1 32 Pittsburgh Javier Arenas CB Alabama

* Denver traded their first-round pick to Seattle for Seattle’s 2009 second-round selection (37th overall, used to select Alphonso Smith).

** Chicago traded their first-round pick along with their 2009 first- and third-round selections, and quarterback Kyle Orton to Denver for quarterback Jay Cutler and a 2009 fifth-round selection.

*** Carolina traded their first-round pick to San Francisco for San Francisco’s 2009 second-round selection (43rd overall, used to select Everette Brown) and their 2009 fourth-round selection (111th overall, used to select Mike Goodson).

.

16 Responses

  1. You really don’ think Tebow will make it into the first round?

    • No, I don’t expect him to be drafted in the first round. I suppose there may be a team willing to take the risk on him but if he does get drafted as a quarterback then it would surprise me if it were in the first round and if he gets drafted as a tight end or fullback or some other position then he certainly won’t be worth using a first round pick on.

  2. I also think you should have a poll on how people think the seasons plays out for a different draft order because I hate to say it but I expect the Colts to have a down year

    • I could do that but I don’t know how I would set up that poll… Also all I’m doing at this point is determining the first few picks from the poll on my last mock draft and then using the Vegas odds on who will win the Super Bowl to determine the rest and that has the Colts as the sixth most likely team to win the Super Bowl so they get the 27th pick.

  3. Kindle may have cost himself a few draft spots with his recent car accident.

    • We’ll see how much that impacts his season but until then I’m going to assume that he will play the whole season.

  4. Atlanta and a WR? are you kidding me?
    Roddy White – 1200 yards, 6 TD’s each of hte past 2 years
    Michael Jenkins – 700 yards, 3 TD’s last year
    Harry Douglas – good slot man

    WR is not a need. let alone a first round one

    • Roddy White is a free agent in 2010. They might be able to resign him but don’t be surprised if he gets picked up somewhere else for a bigger paycheck.

  5. Seriously we need to come up with a better way to do this because in no way should dallas have the 26th pick. They aren’t that good.

    • I agree but this is the most unbiased way I can come up with.

    • We could go through all the schedules and see if we can make predictions for the season. Then use those results to shape a draft.

    • That’s what I did with the ones from last year and the first one this year… and once the season actually starts that’s what I’ll be doing again but for the offseason I’m probably just going to stick with the odds from Vegas because they change every couple weeks anyhow so it does change the draft order… unless of course you want to go through and predict each teams schedule, and then I’ll do a mock draft based on your draft order. That actually could work out pretty well if you want to do it.

  6. Enjoyed reading your mock… Our NFL Mock Draft Debate-A-Base is coming soon. Have your friends send us an email to sign up!

  7. […] one for August. I determined the draft order by using the results from the poll that I put up with my last mock draft. That took care of the first seven picks. After that I used the most recent Super Bowl XLIV odds to […]

  8. Seattle will not be taking a dt and cb………. and the pick seattle got from denver will not be top 10. If anything, seattle will end up drafting a qb, ot, and a safety within the first day.Our lt is old and injured, our qb is old and injured, and we need help at safety. I say jake locker,trent williams, or eric berry/taylor mays in the first.

  9. […] to end today. To see how things have progressed with my 2010 mock drafts take a look back at I, II, III, IV and V. Here is the sixth […]

Leave a Reply

