Fantasy Football

I know that to some (okay, most) of you out there the fact that I’m writing a post in mid-June about fantasy football may seem ridiculous and Bryan would agree with you. But to me, simply having just finished a fantasy draft, knowing that fantasy leagues all over the country are beginning to be organized and the simple fact that I have a fantasy team already means that the actual NFL season is less than three months away. The excitement that this induces cannot be captured by any word (or set of words) currently in existence in any human language, but I wouldn’t necessarily rule out Shyriiwook. Wow, I’m a nerd. Anyway, the point is that the NFL season is rapidly approaching and so I signed up for an early fantasy league.

As I mentioned before, Bryan thinks that it’s a little bit crazy to have a fantasy draft this early. When I told him that I had one today he responded simply “it’s June.” He’s right. It is June. And he’s right. It is really early to be having a fantasy draft. There are a lot of things that can happen between now and September 10. Players can get injured, suspended, traded, and bumped down on depth charts. Heck, Brett Favre might be back again. But what you need to understand, and what is truly the important, underlying message in all of this is that I got Peyton Manning… Wait, no, I guess that wasn’t the point I was trying to make, but I am very happy about it nonetheless. The point I was trying to make is that while the majority of the world’s population may frown down upon those of us who start drafting fantasy teams in The Rose Month, The Month of the Pearl, The Month of Hera (whatever you choose to refer to June as) we few stand proud and say “I will draft my teams with honor and dignity! I shall hold my head high while I click the “draft this player” button and I shall vanquish all of those naysayers who dareth challenge our noble ways!” and by that I simply mean, we like football.

June is the month that has the longest daylight hours of the year (for those of us in the Northern Hemisphere anyhow) and those extra rays from the sun provide a source of light. And having a fantasy team represents having as source of light guiding us through the dark path that is the time from February through August, known in the upper echelons of the football lovers community as the NFT (No Football Time). Seven months out of every year we live in the darkness, going about our daily routines in our lives in a monotonous drone. We stumble through this seven-month long tunnel in perfect darkness, but when we get just over half way we see the light at the end of the tunnel, and that light is having the opportunity to draft meaningless fantasy football teams.

So I ask you to please sympathize with those of us who suffer from FDD (Football Dependency Disorder) and show empathy to our annual struggle.

For more information on this rare disease please call this number toll free 1-800-FDD-HELP. That’s 1-800-333-4357. Or visit us on the web at http://www.FDD.com.

This post has gotten really weird in a hurry, so I’m just going to go ahead and tell you what my first team of 2009 NFL Fantasy Football season looks like. I unfortunately don’t have a comical story to go along with this one like I did with my MLB fantasy team but I did get Peyton Manning, which is all that really matters.

I’m in Yahoo Public League 41768, which is a standard 10-team yahoo league with one quarterback, three wide receivers, two running backs, one tight end, one kicker, one defense and six bench players. Our draft started today at 5:00, and when I entered the live draft at 5:03 it was somehow already the third round. Don’t ask me how that happened because I have absolutely no idea but apparently my first and second round picks were Brian Westbrook and Clinton Portis respectively. I showed up just in time to steal Peyton Manning with the seventh pick of the third round. Nothing too exciting happened beyond that. My team is already projected by Yahoo to win my Week 1 matchup by 12 points. Here’s my roster:

Starters:

QB – Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

WR – Terrell Owens, Buffalo Bills

WR – Braylon Edwards, Cleveland Browns

WR – Laveranues Coles, Cincinnati Bengals

RB – Brian Westbrook, Philadelphia Eagles

RB – Clinton Portis, Washington Redskins

TE – Dustin Keller, New York Jets

K – Garrett Hartley, New Orleans Saints

DEF – Green Bay Packers defense

Bench:

RB – Joseph Addai, Indianapolis Colts

WR – DeSean Jackson, Philadelphia Eagles

RB – Jamal Lewis, Cleveland Browns

WR – Kevin Walter, Houston Texans

WR – Derrick Mason, Baltimore Ravens

RB – Ray Rice, Baltimore Ravens

Let me know how well you think this team will do.

8 Responses

  1. My vote goes for “It’s June, you’re nuts.”

  2. I appreciate it. I like this team because it has a lot of sleepers on it. Ray Rice, Kevin Walter, Dustin Keller, Garrett Hartley and the Packers D I think are all going to have better years (in terms of fantasy football) than most people think.

  3. I don’t understand it all but I will put you on the podium. I am a Manning fan.

  4. I’m not sure if you meant that you don’t understand the post, fantasy football or my obsession with football in general, lol… Either way, it’s completely understandable. Bryan and I were joking yesterday about how this post doesn’t make any sense at all… and I’m definitely in the minority with how extreme my obsession with football… As for fantasy football, you just have to keep in mind that it’s all about the numbers. Haha

  5. I like your squad. Westbrook and Portis are going to be solid players all season long and Peyton is arguably the best QB in the NFL. Keller, Addai, Ray Rice could have huge years.

    http://www.twitter.com/AndrewSidney
    http://www.myfantasyplayers.com

  6. I think Keller’s going to have a huge year. He’s extremely athletic and primed to have a big year with the void in the offense created by the departure of Coles. Ray Rice also is a sleeper pick that I like. The team has enough depth to contend and to deal with injuries throughout the season.

    http://www.myfantasyplayers.com
    http://www.twitter.com/raymondkim1

  7. Personally, I think “Fantasy Anything” is a year ’round activity! Why not fantasy football in June? I don’t know what happened to make the first two rounds go so fast, but you got a steal with Manning in the 3rd round. Should bode well for your season!

  8. You know what? Reading back through this post a second time, it wasn’t near as bad as I initially thought, haha… Maybe I was just more prepared for it this time, lol… but you’re right, volhawk. I love me some fantasy football any time of the year and I did indeed get a steal with Peyton in the third… I looked up the statistics on it and on average so far in the Yahoo fantasy football leagues he is being taken with the 16th overall pick, and I got him with the 27th pick, so I’m pretty happy about that.

Leave a Reply

