MLB Mock Draft

As promised, here is my first and only crack at predicting Major League Baseball’s First Year Player Draft on Tuesday.  I’m going to try the first 32 picks and probably won’t get any of them right.  Most of my information is going to come from ESPN.com.

1. Washington Nationals – Stephen Strasburg – RHP – San Diego State

2. Seattle Mariners – Dustin Ackley – 1B/OF – North Carolina

3. San Diego Padres – Donavan Tate – OF – Cartersville HS, GA

4. Pittsburgh Pirates – Aaron Crow – RHP – Missouri/Indy League

5. Baltimore Orioles – Zack Wheeler – RHP – East Paulding HS, GA

6. San Francisco Giants – Tanner Scheppers – RHP – Fresno St./Indy League

7. Atlanta Braves – Tyler Matzek – LHP – Capistrano Valley HS, CA

8. Cincinnati Reds – Shelby Miller – RHP – Brownwood HS, TX

9. Detroit Tigers – Jacob Turner – RHP – Westminster Christian Academy HS, MO

10. Washington Nationals – Chad Jenkins – RHP – Kennesaw St.

11. Colorado Rockies – Alex White – RHP – North Carolina

12. Kansas City Royals – Grant Green – SS – USC

13. Oakland A’s – Mike Leake – RHP – Arizona St.

14. Texas Rangers – Matt Purke – LHP – Klein HS, TX

15. Cleveland Indians – Tony Sanchez – C – Boston College

16. Arizona Diamondbacks – Bobby Borchering – 3B – Bishop Verot HS, FL

17. Arizona Diamondbacks – Kyle Gibson – RHP – Missouri

18. Florida Marlins – Mike Trout – OF – Millville HS, NJ

19. St. Louis Cardinals – James Paxton – LHP – Kentucky

20. Toronto Blue Jays – Rex Brothers – LHP – Lipscomb

21. Houtson Astros – Matt Davidson – 3B – Yucaipa HS, CA

22. Minnesota Twins – Chad James – LHP – Yukon HS, OK

23. Chicago White Sox – Eric Arnett – RHP – Indiana

24. Los Angeles Angels – Mike Minor – LHP – Vanderbilt

25. Los Angeles Angels – Reymond Fuentes – Fernando Callego HS, PR

26. Milwaukee Brewers – Tyler Skaggs – LHP – Santa Monica HS, CA

27. Seattle Mariners – Drew Storen – RHP – Stanford

28. Boston Red Sox – AJ Pollock- OF – Notre Dame

29. New York Yankees – Max Stassi – C – Yuba City HS, CA

30. Tampa Bay Rays – Tim Wheeler – OF – Sacramento St.

31. Chicago Cubs – Jiovanni Mier- SS – Bonita HS, CA

32. Colorado Rockies – Wil Myers – C/3B – Wesleyan Christian Academy HS, NC

So there you go.  Will it go down like this? No.  Probably not.  But hey, it will be fun to see just how far off I am.  I had intended to justify all of my picks, but then I realized that I was tired.  Plus, after the first 15 or so picks, I was kind of clueless.  Let me know what you think in the comments.

3 Responses

  1. […] three picks didn’t really surprise anyone.  Past that, the only picks I got correct in my mock draft was Detroit’s 9th overall pick, Jacob Turner and Arizona’s 17th overall pick, Bobby […]

  2. […] don’t know many of these kids aside from what I read on the internet.  I tried my hand at a first round mock draft for baseball and I failed miserably.  I’d be even worse at a hockey one, so I won’t […]

  3. […] June, I tried my hand at a Major League Baseball mock draft which did not go well.  It was fun to make, […]

Leave a Reply

