2010 NFL Mock Draft I (5/1)

It’s the first day of May and the 2010 NFL Draft is only 358 days away. That means it’s time to put up my first 2010 mock draft. We had a lot of fun with all of the 2009 mock drafts and the 2009 draft itself of course. The draft order I’m using is based off of the 2009 NFL season predictions that I put up yesterday. Happy May Day everyone! Here’s my first 2010 mock draft:

Rnd Pick Team Player Pos School
1 1 Detroit Russell Okung OT Oklahoma State
1 2 Oakland Terrence Cody DT Alabama
1 3 St Louis Sam Bradford QB Oklahoma
1 4 Kansas City Ciron Black OT LSU
1 5 Jacksonville Dez Bryant WR Oklahoma State
1 6 Cleveland Brandon Spikes LB Florida
1 7 Cincinnati Gerald McCoy DT Oklahoma
1 8 Tampa Bay George Selvie DE South Florida
1 9 NY Jets Arrelious Benn WR Illinois
1 10 Seattle* C. J. Spiller RB Clemson
1 11 Denver** Tim Tebow QB Florida
1 12 San Francisco Carlos Dunlap DE Florida
1 13 Seattle Jevan Snead QB Mississippi
1 14 Green Bay Joe Haden CB Florida
1 15 New Orleans Eric Berry S Tennessee
1 16 Buffalo Jermaine Gresham TE Oklahoma
1 17 Philadelphia Taylor Mays S USC
1 18 Dallas Ndamukong Suh DT Nebraska
1 19 Miami Sergio Kendle LB Texas
1 20 Houston Jahvid Best RB California
1 21 Minnesota Narraro Bowman LB Penn State
1 22 Atlanta Rolando McClain LB Alabama
1 23 Washington Bryan Bulaga OT Iowa
1 24 San Francisco*** Trent Williams OT Oklahoma
1 25 San Diego Damian Williams WR USC
1 26 Tennessee Jonathan Dwyer RB Georgia Tech
1 27 Arizona Rodney Hudson OG Florida State
1 28 New England Major Wright S Florida
1 29 Baltimore Brandon Lafell WR LSU
1 30 Pittsburgh Greg Hardy DE Mississippi
1 31 NY Giants Trevard Lindley CB Kentucky
1 32 Indianapolis Sean Weatherspoon LB Missouri

* Denver traded their first-round pick to Seattle for Seattle’s 2009 second-round selection (37th overall, used to select Alphonso Smith).

** Chicago traded their first-round pick along with their 2009 first- and third-round selections, and quarterback Kyle Orton to Denver for quarterback Jay Cutler and a 2009 fifth-round selection.

*** Carolina traded their first-round pick to San Francisco for San Francisco’s 2009 second-round selection (43rd overall, used to select Everette Brown) and their 2009 fourth-round selection (111th overall, used to select Mike Goodson).

Who do you think will end up with the first overall pick in 2010?

16 Responses

  1. Really people… we just fiinished w/ the 2009 draft, do we really need to do this now?? C’mon! Believe me you will get your fill enough when it comes around next year, and months before the draft time bounding with speculation. AND WE WILL BE SICK OF IT! So just stop it already, relax and ENJOY the 2009 season for crying out loud! Enough!!!

  2. You can’t be serious with Tebow to Denver

    • my updated mock draft is here https://classic17.wordpress.com/2009/06/01/2010-mock-draft-ii-0601/

    • Hahahahaha. I win.

  3. I like this idea. Cancel the season, award the Rams Mr. Bradford and we’ll go from there.

  4. gaytorbait – I’m glad you enjoyed my mock draft! If you are so against doing mock drafts this early then what brought you here to check this one out? In case you didn’t know, there is no time for a true fan to ever “relax” and in case you hadn’t noticed the 2009 season is still months away so at this point I can’t enjoy the 2009 season because it’s not here yet. In the meantime I will put up meaningless and early prediction and projections for things that aren’t going to happen to quench my thirst for football. I’m really glad you’re a gaytor fan, because it makes your opinion worthless.

  5. What brought me here was a google alert for Gator information, not your mock draft article. I am football aficionado (means fan) too but the 2009 draft just ended, need a break. And true fans have a life outside of their obession or at least they should!

    Yes, football season isn’t here yet but there’s enough info out there to satisfy your hunger for it so let’s not get ahead of ourselves just yet. Take the time to put some thought about our choices before making picks or predictions. Everyone improves during a season on some level depending upon the players determination.

    Glad to see your so open to others opinions, if you didn’t want or expect that you shouldn’t write and publish an article. 101 journalism…something I learned at Florida, seems you lack that understanding. Gaining some knowledge would benefit you greatly. Go GATORS…(don’t be bitter) ;p

  6. Oh, I do value others opinions, just not those of anybody who has anything to do with the florida gaytors. You’re free to leave whatever comments and opinions you want (this is obvious, seeing as I haven’t deleted either of you comments) I’m simply stating that they hold no weight with me.

    Oh and “true fans have a life outside of their obession or at least they should!”… I’m sorry, I didn’t realize that me doing a one round mock draft meant I didn’t have a life outside of my obsession… If you don’t want my mock drafts showing up in your google alerts anymore, I will be more than happy to not have a single gaytor being taken. I can only think of a handful of florida players that went on to be worth a damn in the NFL anyhow. None of which (no, not even dear emmitt) were near as good as Peyton Manning or Reggie White, and the argument could be made to have Doug Atkins thrown in there as well.

  7. I understand you’re resentment toward the Gators, especially since Peyton Manning did not win a game playing against us during his college career. However, I admire him as a great leader and QB. And you guys are stuck w/ Lame Kiffin!

    And my comment was about being a true fan, my definition of one. You don’t have to live and breath it every moment and leap to next year’s draft with a season of football still in front of us.

    Everyone has opinions whether we like them or not and you’re entitled to be wrong. ;p

    See you in September, welcome to the Swamp

  8. Well Pistol Pete Maravich never beat Tennessee during his basketball career at LSU, and I’m not about to hold that against him, as he is still one of the best (arguably THE best) point guard of all time. And I am perfectly happy being “stuck” with Kiffin. He’s riled up all the little gaytors out there and I think it’s hilarious, and he brought his dad with him who is the best defensive minded coach in the history of the sport.

    “You don’t have to live and breath it every moment…” – Of course I don’t HAVE to, but I want to, I believe I even made a joke IN THIS POST about how far away the 2010 draft is. It’s fun. It’s something to do and something interesting to look at. No harm done.

    I’m obviously aware that everyone has opinions… because I’m still allowing yours on my website, and as I said before that’s fine. I have no problems with it, I’m just not going to personally take them to heart.

    Also, I’ve been wanting to ask a gaytor fan this for a while, but seeing as how I never talk to any of them I haven’t had the opportunity… How much do you truly, genuinely believe you will beat us by this year (no, I’m not about to deny that you will beat us this year… 2010 might be another story though) because I’ve heard/read a lot of stuff out there making outrageous claims on what the margin of victory will be. I just want to know what a gaytor fan truly believes that margin will be.

  9. I don’t want to get in the middle of this argument, but I will take a stab at why a 2010 mock draft is interesting even though it’s a year away.

    I’m a Rams fan. The Rams are terrible. This is no secret; even the most hardcore Rams fans cannot argue this. We will be lucky to win 3 games. So while I know that there is a lot of football ahead of us, the next meaningful thing the Rams will do is free agency next year. Since mock free agency things are in short supply, we settle for mock drafts, however wrong it may be. The thought of getting Sam Bradford excites me and gives me a little bit of hope for the future.

    So while a Steelers fan may think this mock draft is too early, I’d be willing to bet that most Rams, Chiefs, Lions, and Raiders fans would disagree.

  10. Nice post. I’ve enjoyed each and every one of your mock drafts. Keep up the good work!

    As for “Gator Bait” – I’m motivated to ask: “Who would adopt an historically racist and highly offensive term with such a deep, dark history?”

    Certainly this is not something of which one should normally be proud… In this case, however, it appears the shoe actually fits.

    Please read below and form your own opinion.

    “After the talk, Dennis showed me around the campus. One of our most fascinating stops was the “Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia” that has been assembled by sociology professor David Pilgrim. The Jim Crow Museum contains more than 2,000 racist artifacts, dating from pre-Civil War days to the present: cartoons, Sambo masks, Coon toys, Picaninny ashtrays, Ku Klux Klan literature, postcards with Black children portrayed as “alligator bait.”

    Full text may be found at:
    http://www.prwatch.org/node/4005

    Keep up the good work guys and pay no heed to little men trolling the net for “anything gator” only to be BUSTED(!) on your site by his own obsessive behavior.

    I don’t care who you are – THAT”S FuNnY!

  11. […] Recent Comments 2009 NFL Draft Grade… on AFC Draft Grades2009 NFL Draft Grade… on NFL Draft Grades Second E…2009 NFL Draft Grade… on NFL Draft GradesEveryone Loves A Goo… on This is not worthy of it…VolHawk on 2010 NFL Mock Draft I (5/… […]

  12. […] and mentioned that I would use them to determine the draft order for my next mock draft. I put up my first 2010 mock draft exactly one month ago, so here is the second one. The draft order is different so it’s […]

  13. Nice mock… We will send out details for our NFL Mock Draft Debate-A-Base shortly!

  14. […] were to end today. To see how things have progressed with my 2010 mock drafts take a look back at I, II, III, IV and V. Here is the sixth […]

Leave a Reply

