Weller Moved to Knoxville

Okay, so this post isn’t really sports related but I want to write a post about it and we haven’t put anything else up yet today so it works out. For those of you who don’t know I had lived in Lawrence, Kansas for over 18 years and I just recently moved to heaven – better known as Knoxville, Tennessee. I have officially lived in Knoxville now for a whole week. Here are some things I have learned and some of the differences that I’ve noticed in that time:

  • The birds sing prettier songs.
  • The skies are bluer.
  • The air is fresher.
  • Beer is smoother and tastes better.
  • Southern hospitality is real.
  • Things are not bigger in Texas because Neyland Stadium is huge.
  • Malls are a dangerous place for me because all the stores sell Tennessee stuff.
  • The women are beautiful.
  • This city isn’t on a grid… at all, but it’s okay because it makes things more fun.
  • The Ice Bears are facing the Fayetteville FireAntz in the playoffs… or something like that.
  • The DMV is like the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow… it’s mythical, it doesn’t actually exist but if you happen to actually find it there’s a leprechaun who wants 3 forms of proof that you’re a U.S. resident and a bunch of other paperwork before you can have your gold.
  • The Bursar’s office is not in Ayres Hall.
  • Circle Park and Circle Drive are not the same place.
  • Did I mention the women are beautiful?
  • Cumberland Ave. is called “The Strip” which is not downtown.
  • My Orioles are better than Bryan thought they would be.
  • Having a decent internet connection is like wearing glasses for the first time. It’s a whole new world.
  • The athletic facilities here are amazing. I already knew this but still…
  • Subway makes sandwiches other than the meatball. I already knew this one too but today I think is the first day in my life I have ever gotten something from there that wasn’t a meatball sub.
  • It’s not rare to see somebody other than myself wearing orange.
  • I am a Hall of Fame ring toss game thrower person. Yes, I just learned this in the last week.
  • There are more trees… and more hills.
  • People talk about the Orange & White game a few weeks in advance. I don’t think I had ever heard anybody talk about the KU spring scrimmage. Ever.
  • I can use my Dillons plus card at the grocery stores here and it still gives me all the discounts.  For those who don’t know Dillons is a grocery store that only exists in Kansas.
  • You don’t have to live here for any specific amount of time to get in state tuition. Sweet.
  • If I get lost I can call or text Bryan and he will look up where I am on google maps and tell me where to go.
  • Pretty girls on campus are willing to help you find the Bursar’s Office when you’re lost and on the complete other side of campus from where you need to be.
  • And most importantly… People love Tennessee football almost as much as I do!

3 Responses

  1. Welcome to one of the best places this side of heaven my friend…….Tennessee!

  2. Wow! That pulled a sentimental tear from this old Vol! You didn’t mention the sunset or the sunrise… but all in good time I suppose.

    Enjoy!

    VolHawk

  3. Ha! Ha! Great article, Weller!

    They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it certainly sounds like you’ve found yours in Tennessee.

    So glad to hear you are lovin’ where you’ve landed!

Leave a Reply

