The SEC Basketball Tournament

secYesterday I put up my predictions for the Big 12 Conference Tournament, and as promised I am putting up my SEC predictions today. I have a little more bias when it comes to the SEC side of things, so please forgive me when you disagree with my picks. An interesting tid-bit that has always intrigued me is that the SEC and Big 12 both have 12 teams in their conference, and both are divided into two divisions of six. The weird part is that for the Big 12 conference tournament, they seed all the teams 1 through 12 regardless of division, while the SEC seeds the two different divisions 1 through 6 and has it set up so that for the first round no two teams from the same division are matched up against one another.

I have Tennessee winning this because I love my Vols. I truly do believe that they can win the conference tournament but they’ve also shown that I shouldn’t be too terribly surprised if they lose their first game of the tournament. In all likelihood LSU will actually win the championship but upsets occur and weirder things have happened. Georgia won the SEC tournament last year after going 4-12 in conference play during the regular season. They won as many games in that tournament as they did in all of the regular season conference play. That’s far from being expected. In short, if Tennessee can get hot and find anything that resembles consistency they could make a run at this conference championship.

filled-09-sec-tournament-bracket

In my completely unbiased poll, let me know who you think will win the SEC Tournament.

7 Responses

  1. Well, I got the first game wrong…

  2. I agree that the Vols could win this tournament. I think they may have to win to make the tournament. Love their coach and do root for them, I hope you are right.

  3. I think that as long as they don’t lose their first game (and maybe even then) Tennessee will be in the Tournament… they’re basically just playing to help their seeding at this point.

  4. Coach Pearl will have them ready to play. If they get out and run, get into a transition game and play some “D” I think they’ll do very well. I’m afraid they will have to play deep in the SEC tournament to get into the NC2As.

    Go Vols!

  5. I think we’re already a lock for the NCAA Tournament. We’re 22nd in RPI and we have the second best strength of schedule in the nation. If that’s not good enough to make the tournament then I don’t know what is…

  6. Hmmmm…. Good point. I’m with you.

  7. […] of this week. I talked wrote about how it was Tennessee’s first week of spring football, the SEC conference tournament for men’s basketball, and Tennessee’s Pro Day for the players entering the NFL draft. I even gave more information […]

Leave a Reply

