2009 NFL Mock Draft IX (3/09)

It’s been nearly a month since my last mock draft so I thought it was about time to put up another one. I hadn’t really felt a need because we’ve had the co-op fan mock draft up and running. For those of you who have seen my past mock drafts and know that I normally do three rounds, I decided to just do two rounds this time because we’re just about through two rounds in the co-op fan mock draft and I want to wait for the compensatory picks to be assigned before I go back to three rounds. By then however, I might feel up to doing a full seven round mock, so that should give you something to look forward to.

Speaking of things to look forward to, Bryan and I will be live blogging the actual draft this year, just like I did last year only this time it will be even better because I won’t be flying solo. It should again be filled with a lot of excitement and a lot of emotion, and we hope a lot of good info and feedback with each pick.

As always, please feel free to leave a comment, and if you would like to submit ratings for your favorite team’s positional needs that I can use for my next mock draft take a look at our Contact Us page, and shoot me an email and I’ll let you know what you need to do.

If you would like to see how things have progressed, I recommend checking out my first eight mock drafts: (9/11), (9/25), (10/10), (10/15), (12/10), (1/03), (2/06), and (2/12).

Here’s the new one:

Rnd Pick Team Player Pos School
1 1 Detroit BJ Raji DT Boston College
1 2 St Louis Eugene Monroe OT Virginia
1 3 Kansas City Aaron Curry MLB Wake Forest
1 4 Seattle Michael Crabtree WR Texas Tech
1 5 Cleveland Brian Orakpo DE Texas
1 6 Cincinnati Jason Smith OT Baylor
1 7 Oakland Jeremy Maclin WR Missouri
1 8 Jacksonville Malcolm Jenkins CB Ohio State
1 9 Green Bay Vontae Davis CB Illinois
1 10 San Francisco Everette Brown OLB Florida State
1 11 Buffalo Tyson Jackson DE LSU
1 12 Denver Rey Maualuga MLB USC
1 13 Washington Michael Oher OT Mississippi
1 14 New Orleans Brian Cushing OLB USC
1 15 Houston Aaron Maybin OLB Penn State
1 16 San Diego Andre Smith OT Alabama
1 17 NY Jets Matthew Stafford QB Georgia
1 18 Chicago Eben Britton OT Arizona
1 19 Tampa Bay Mark Sanchez QB USC
1 20 Detroit Clay Matthews OLB USC
1 21 Philadelphia Brandon Pettigrew TE Oklahoma St
1 22 Minnesota Hakeem Nicks WR North Carolina
1 23 New England Michael Johnson OLB Georgia Tech
1 24 Atlanta Peria Jerry DT Mississippi
1 25 Miami Alphonso Smith CB Wake Forest
1 26 Baltimore James Laurinaitis MLB Ohio State
1 27 Indianapolis Knowshon Moreno RB Georgia
1 28 Philadelphia Darrius Heyward-Bey WR Maryland
1 29 NY Giants Percy Harvin WR Florida
1 30 Tennessee Darius Butler CB Connecticut
1 31 Arizona Clint Sintim OLB Virginia
1 32 Pittsburgh William Beatty OT Connecticut
* * * * * * * * Round Two * * * * * * * *
2 33 Detroit Alex Mack C California
2 34 New England DJ Moore CB Vanderbilt
2 35 St Louis Larry English OLB Northern Illinois
2 36 Cleveland Chris Wells RB Ohio State
2 37 Seattle Donald Brown RB Connecticut
2 38 Cincinnati Max Unger C Oregon
2 39 Jacksonville LeSean McCoy RB Pittsburgh
2 40 Oakland Robert Ayers DE Tennessee
2 41 Green Bay Evander Hood DT Missouri
2 42 Buffalo Duke Robinson OG Oklahoma
2 43 San Francisco Jamon Meredith OT South Carolina
2 44 Miami Ron Brace DT Boston College
2 45 NY Giants Patrick Chung SS Oregon
2 46 Houston Sean Smith CB Utah
2 47 New England Louis Delmas FS Western Michigan
2 48 Denver Jarron Gilbert DE San Jose St
2 49 Chicago Connor Barwin DE Cincinnati
2 50 Cleveland Jairus Byrd CB Oregon
2 51 Dallas William Moore FS Missouri
2 52 NY Jets Kenny Britt WR Rutgers
2 53 Philadelphia Coye Francies CB San Jose St
2 54 Minnesota Phil Loadholt OT Oklahoma
2 55 Atlanta Victor Harris CB Virginia Tech
2 56 Miami Brian Robiskie WR Ohio State
2 57 Baltimore Paul Kruger DE Utah
2 58 New England Josh Freeman QB Kansas St
2 59 Carolina Fili Moala DT USC
2 60 NY Giants Marcus Freeman OLB Ohio State
2 61 Indianapolis Juaquin Iglesias WR Oklahoma
2 62 Tennessee Derrick Williams WR Penn State
2 63 Arizona Shonn Greene RB Iowa
2 64 Pittsburgh Eric Wood C Louisville

Who do you think the Lions will take with the first overall pick?

10 Responses

  1. J-E-T-S would REALLY love this scenario – -Stafford and good wr Britts in first two rounds wow!!

  2. Very good mock draft, I’m a pats fan and I agree with all your picks for my team, except for the last one. The Pats will not pick a qb with a second round pick. They drafted a qb last year and will fill their backup with either him (O’Connell) or a free agent vet.

  3. Yeah, suddenly about two out of three mocks have the Pats taking a QB, specifically Johnson. Sound like everybody’s copying off the same homework.

    BTW – Belichick will probably go O-line with the #23. Just to screw with everybody’s head, y’know.

  4. I don’t think that the jets will go qb in round 1 even if Stafford falls that far. I believe that
    Rex Ryan wants to establish a more physical style of football. I think the Jets select Chris Wells with that pick
    After all Thomas Jones isn’t getting any younger. If they do select a qb it will be in rd 2 possibly Josh Freeman.

  5. How do you give the Bengals an offensive lineman first pick? They need DEFENSE! Then again, that wide receiving corp is thinning out…

  6. The New Orleans need a safety first not an OLB. If they are not able to pick one up in the free agency then pencil in a true safety or a CB that can be versatile enough to play it.

  7. I agree with MaineMan. I think the Pats will go with the best available O Tackle at #23. They signed Springs for the secondary and I do not think BB has given up on Wheatley or Wilhite yet. I do think they take a CB with one of the 2nd rounders though. Also, I think they go with an English/Barwin type player at #34.

  8. […] 2009 NFL Mock Draft IX (3/09) It’s been nearly a month since my last mock draft so I thought it was about time to put up another one. I […] […]

  9. […] NFL Mock Draft X Posted on April 3, 2009 by colts18 It’s been nearly a month since my last mock draft so I thought it was about time to put up another one. Like I mentioned then, I haven’t really […]

  10. […] NFL Mock Draft X (4/04) Posted on April 4, 2009 by colts18 It’s been nearly a month since my last mock draft so I thought it was about time to put up another one. Like I mentioned then, I haven’t really […]

Leave a Reply

