Best Live Sport?

Hello again, kids.  It’s been a while since I’ve posted around here.  I’ve been locked away studying for the GRE so I can go to Grad School.  I took it on Friday and did well enough, so that’s over.  I also had a massive computer problem and I had to restore the system, which I’ve been trying to recover from as well.  Luckily, in that week that I have been gone I’ve missed…well, nothing.

EPSN is doing their annual Bracket Buster thing, which I don’t get at all.  Earlier today Wright St. played Northeastern.  I don’t care how hard they play, neither of these teams will be busting anybody’s bracket.  Frankly, it’s just boring.

So while we wait for the Combine to get over, there’s not a whole lot to talk about.  Unless, of course, you’re a hockey fan and we all know that there are only like 9 of us left in the world.  So naturally, that’s what I want  to talk about.

Two Thursdays ago, I went to St. Louis for the Blues-Avalanche game.  It was the first game I’d been able to go to all year and I had really forgotten what was so great about seeing a live hockey game.

First, you can hear absolutely everything that takes place at ice level.  You can hear coaches calling out line changes, the puck smacking the tape on the stick, and the bone-jarring hits into the boards.  It really adds a dimension to the atmosphere that you don’t get at many, if any, other sporting event.

On TV, you don’t realize just how cold it is in the arena.  It’s common sense:  they play on ice which must be kept cold.  Still, it’s not something that you think about when you’re sitting in front of your fireplace at home.

Also, it’s tough to get the intensity of a live hockey game through a television set.  Even the plays that aren’t close put you on the edge of your seat when you’re there.  When a goal is scored, you’re up, out of your seat, before your brain even registers what just happened.  You hear the goal horn and you’re up.  It’s very simple.

The last great thing about a live hockey game is the relatively few pauses.  There are no timeouts at the end of a game like in football, or boring free throws that take 20 minutes at the end of a basketball game.  No, if your team is losing at the end of a game, you pull your goalie and try to score that way.  It’s thrilling until the end.  I love it.

Now, fair reader, you know what I think.  For me, hockey is hands down, far and and away the best sport to see in person.  Let me know what you think in the comments and my poll.

Next week we’ll start our co-op draft, so I’ll have a little more to talk about.

5 Responses

  1. I might have said football, if you had specified college vs. pro. However, I definitely agree. Hockey is awesome live.

    By the way…. Weller? I can’t believe you didn’t put your ESPN video up here!

  2. Wow, Erin… How didn’t I think of that? Haha… I might just have to do it! lol

  3. I chose football. Though hockey would provide for an excellent arguement. No brainer here in baltimore though, no hockey!
    I’ve been to some buffalo sabres game though when I was younger. Yeah…makes me want to go watch some live.

    Lacrosse is another good sport to watch. Though it doesn’t get the national attention. It’s big here.

  4. Baseball, baseball, baseball. Nothing like a summer evening and Baseball…..

  5. No love for basketball.

Leave a Reply

