Raheem Morris Named Bucs New Head Coach

“What?”

“Who?”

Those might be two of your first thoughts after reading that heading, and nobody should hold either reaction against you. Less than a month ago Raheem Morris was the defensive backs coach for Tampa Bay, and was promoted to Defensive Coordinator after my Vols hired Monte Kiffin, who had been the Buccaneers Defensive Coordinator since 1996. Bryan wrote a post yesterday about Jon Gruden being fired as the Bucs Head Coach. This was a big enough shock for me, but now, the very next day they announce that their new Head Coach will be Raheem Morris, a 32 year old, who just over three weeks ago was a positional coach, I don’t even really know what to say.

If you’re a Tampa Bay fan, I’d recommend preparing yourself for a rough 2009 season. You lost a Defensive Coordinator who can easily be argued as the best defensive minded coach in football history, you then fire your Head Coach and General Manager and replace them a day later with a couple of guys in their thirties. Neither of them have outstanding resumes by any stretch of the imagination and the best things your team’s co-chairman, Joel Glazer, can say as the reason for hiring them is “Both of these men have Tampa Bay Buccaneers in their DNA. … They’re youthful and energetic.” Great, I bet I could find a fan at a Tampa Bay tailgate who has just as much of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in his DNA as either of these guys, and you know what? I bet I could find one who’s youthful too, and if he isn’t energetic enough, I’ll hand him a Red Bull.

I’m sorry, but this is ridiculous to me. Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe I’m missing something. If I am please let me know in a comment. If nothing else, you can vote in my poll:

3 Responses

  1. “Great, I bet I could find a fan at a Tampa Bay tailgate who has just as much of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in his DNA as either of these guys, and you know what? I bet I could find one who’s youthful too, and if he isn’t energetic enough, I’ll hand him a Red Bull.”

    Haha, Weller. You made me laugh. That’s hard to do on days like today. Good job. Your sentiments ring true, and though I have no idea who this Raheem fellow is, I’m inclined to agree with you.

  2. Hahaha, well I’m glad I could put a smile on your face! It’s always good to know that you’re making somebody happy.

  3. Just wanted to tell you all know how much I appreciate your postings guys.
    Found you though google!

Leave a Reply

