National Championship Game Preview

After tonight’s GMAC Bowl between Ball St and Tulsa, there will only be one game left in the college football season.  You might have heard a little bit about it over the past couple of weeks.  It’s the National Title Game between Florida and Texas Oklahoma.  I’ve seen Oklahoma play in person and that was not much fun.  I haven’t ever seen Florida play in person, but I hate them, so this should work out well.

A month ago, I refrained from picking a winner in this game.  I thought it was going to be an evenly matched, hard fought game.  Now, I’m not so sure.  Oklahoma comes from the vaunted Big 12 South and Florida from the equally frightening SEC.  Much ink was spilled over which conference was superior who had the better talent, etc, etc.  That debate has, unfortunately, not ended well for the Big 12.  The high powered offenses of Missouri, Texas Tech, Texas, and to a lesser extent, Oklahoma St. have appeared rather pedestrian in their bowl games.  Mizzou and Texas were able to pull out victories over their Big 10 foes, but OSU and Tech came up short against the Pac-10 and SEC, respectively.  I must mention that the Big 12 is 4-2 overall, however.  Will Oklahoma be the latest to get exposed?  I hope not, but I’m afraid of that.

Next is that Heisman Curse.  Maybe it’s not an official curse, but Heisman winners are something like 1-5 in their last 6 bowl games.  That includes Timmy T. against Michigan in last year’s Capital One Bowl.  This year, Sooners’ QB Sam Bradford gets to make the media rounds and face all that pressure in the title game.

a_stoops_hiMy last little preview is about Big Game Bob Stoops.  This nickname apparently only applies to non-BCS games.  Stoops is 0-4 in his last four BCS games.  Meyer, on the other hand, is 2-0 BCS games, one with Utah and one with Florida.

It just seems to be that the odds are stacked in the Gators’ favor, which pains me to say.  I hope Oklahoma’s O is immune to the let down we’ve seen so far from the Big 12 and they take it to Timmy T. and the rest of his mates. I can’t bring myself to actually pick Florida to win, so I’ll just leave a score prediction out of this.  Enjoy the game.

4 Responses

  1. You mean the amazing big 12 had trouble when playing a team that can play D? Amazing. Looks like the Big 12 was a little overrated and so was Alabama.

  2. Ugh. I hate both of these teams. I can only hope oklahoma pulls it out to redeem the Big XII. I don’t even know if I can watch this game.

  3. While I can’t disagree that the Big 12 has been overrated, they are still 4-2 in Bowl games. That’s not bad at all. The downside of that is that three wins came over the Big 10 and one over the ACC. Not exactly a murderer’s row of opponents.

    I thought Alabama was kind of overrated all season, but they’re still a good football team. Maybe they weren’t overrated as much as Utah was underrated.

  4. SEC 2 Big 12 0. That should settle the question of who is better. BTW Tim Tebow is a champ and nothing short of awesome. As I said earlier, the Big 12 doesn’t know how to play D and it showed tonight.

Leave a Reply

