Draft Thoughts for Bryan

First let me say that this won’t interest a whole lot of people, and will only probably intrigue people that are fans of an NFL team drafting in the top 10 or just want to gather as many different thoughts and perspectives on the 2009 NFL Draft as possible. With that out of the way, let’s get down to it.

As many of you know Bryan is a huge Rams fan and because of this he is already looking ahead to the draft for obvious reasons. So he asked me “if the Lions take Andre Smith and you were drafting for the Rams, what would you do?” This was an interesting question, because I believe (and Bryan agrees with me) that the Rams goal for the first round should be to get one of the top 3 offensive tackles in the draft: Andre Smith, Eugene Monroe or Michael Oher. They are all easily top 10 players on my big board. So what I told Bryan is that if I couldn’t trade down to a spot where I thought Monroe or Oher would still be available, then I’d reach for Monroe, but that I’d definitely be trying to trade down to get something extra out of it. He said that in addition to the team’s 2009 first round pick he’d also want a first rounder in the 2010 draft as well, but that he might settle for the team’s 2009 second rounder.

Next Bryan asked me how far I would trade down and who it would be with. This was a harder question to answer than I would have first thought. My answer to the first part of the question was simple: “I’d say we need to stay in the top 10, preferably the top 8, but I think top 10 would be fine.” The second part of the question was much more difficult. I first needed to find a top 10 team that was behind the Rams and had a big enough need for a player to jump up to the second spot because a team currently in front of them would likely take that desired player. After that I then had to figure out who I thought the remaining teams would draft to see if one of the previously mentioned offensive tackles would still be available for the Rams.

After a whole lot of rankings team needs, thinking about what teams were the most desperate for certain positions and what players would be taken when and by who in which situations, I came up with two possibilities: a trade with the Jaguars, who are sitting on the 8th overall pick or with the 49ers who have the 10th. The Jags would be moving up to take Aaron Curry before the Browns while the 49ers would be looking to jump in front of the Chiefs to get Matt Stafford. The Rams might be hesitant to trade with a division rival knowing that they’d be getting a potential franchise quarterback, but I’m throwing it out there anyway. Here’s how I would see those two situations playing out:

Trade with the 49ers:

1. Detroit Lions – Andre Smith, OT, Alabama

2. San Francisco 49ers – Matt Stafford, QB, Georgia

3. Kansas City Chiefs – Malcolm Jenkins, CB, Ohio State

4. Seattle Seahawks – Eugene Monroe, OT, Virginia (Bryan starts to get nervous)

5. Cleveland Browns – Aaron Curry, OLB, Wake Forest

6. Cincinnati Bengals – Knowshon Moreno, RB, Georgia

7. Oakland Raiders – Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech

8. Jacksonville Jaguars – Brian Cushing, OLB, Southern California

9. Green Bay Packers – SenDerrick Marks, DT, Auburn

10. St. Louis Rams – Michael Oher, OT, Mississippi

Trade with the Jaguars:

1. Detroit Lions – Andre Smith, OT, Alabama

2. Jacksonville Jaguars – Aaron Curry, OLB, Wake Forest

3. Kansas City Chiefs – Matt Stafford, QB, Georgia

4. Seattle Seahawks – Eugene Monroe, OT, Virginia (Bryan starts to get nervous)

5. Cleveland Browns – Malcolm Jenkins, CB, Ohio State

6. Cincinnati Bengals – Knowshon Moreno, RB, Georgia

7. Oakland Raiders – Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech

8. St. Louis Rams – Michael Oher, OT, Mississippi

9. Green Bay Packers – SenDerrick Marks, DT, Auburn

10. San Francisco 49ers – Brian Cushing, OLB, Southern California

As always, if you have any thoughts or questions feel free to leave a comment.

5 Responses

  1. Quit moking Crack you want to move down 8 spots or less and get a 2010 first rounder. IMO you’d be lucky to get a 2009 2nd. Maybe a 3rd and 5th tops.

    • He asked what I wanted. I said first rounder. Who wouldn’t want one? It most likely won’t happen, but teams have given up a lot when they get desperate.

      In 2007, the Jets traded their 1st round pick (25th) and a second round pick (59th) to move up to 14th to take Darrelle Revis 14th. I would think moving up to the 2nd pick in the draft might carry a little more weight than the 14th.

      Again, the odds of this are slim, but it’s not as crazy as you might think.

  2. So I have a few comments but I am too lazy and am currently on too shitty of internet to put them in the correct places.
    A) Can we get some playoff predictions?
    B) Where are the awards for this year?
    C) This might already be here but see above statement, do we have indepth looks at what teams should be drafting this year?
    D) I think these are more important than hearing Weller bash two good football players.
    E) And for your karama post how about those fucking Cowboys falling apart and not making the playoffs after being predicted to win the Super Bowl.

  3. A) I’ll have some playoff predictions up by Friday… or at the very latest before the Falcons/Cardinals game kicks off.
    B) Ah yes, the awards… I knew I forgot to write about something. I’ll try to get those up today or tomorrow.
    C) I don’t think we have that up yet, but I’ll try to do a top 3 for each team or something and put that up.
    D) I wouldn’t say I bashed them necessarily. I just simply shared how much I hate them. There’s no rule saying that I have to like them just because they have been successful. Also, it was relatively important news and so it wasn’t like I wrote a whole post for the sole purpose of hating on two players.
    E) That’s true.

  4. you speak of your “big board” but where is it? I want to see this masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

