Stat of the Day (Game-winning goals)

My name is John Juettner. I was a roommate of Bryan’s when I was a senior at Missouri. Bryan offered the invitation for me to help out with his blog here a while ago, and I actually started to write something but never finished. It’s still in the draft screen on the dashboard (the behind-the-scenes of this blog).

Anyway, I’m going to officially start helping Bryan and Weller out. I have lots of free time and I love sports statistics. So, I’m bringing you the “Stat of the Day” feature. It might not get posted every, single day, but I’ll give it my best shot.

Here is today’s. Enjoy.

In the 2007-08 NHL season, Jeremy Roenick of the San Jose Sharks was second in the league with 10 game-winning goals. Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals  led the league with 11 game-winners. Roenick only scored 14 goals on the season, though. Ovechkin had a league-leading 65. Going a little deeper, Roenick had only 89 shots on goal, while Ovechkin had 446. 

The next guy on the list that season with similar season totals to Roenick’s in goals and shots on goal was Niko Kapanen of the Phoenix Coyotes. Kapanen had 10 goals and 85 shots on goal. He had 5 game-winners.

4 Responses

  1. Well, I know I’m excited about this new addition!

  2. […] sparked some interesting debate, I ran into another good one.  I got to talking with our newest contributor and I asked him if he thought the newly retired Greg Maddux was the best pitcher of our age.  […]

  3. […] December, our team here at WaB grow by one as Jet started his Stat of the Day feature.  We were also witness to the Big 12 […]

  4. hey bryan. nice blog.

Leave a Reply

