Fulmer Out at Tennessee

As many of you know, Phillip Fulmer will not be returning as Head Coach at the University of Tennessee.  For those of you who followed the situation closely, like us here at WaB (WaB?), this doesn’t exactly come as a surprise.  The half-good folks over at 3rd Saturday in Blogtober have done an excellent job of covering this situation and I’m sure they’ll have much more in the coming weeks and months.

Now, on a personal level, I’m very sad about this.  Since I’m only 23, Fulmer is really the only coach I’ve ever known at Tennessee.  He’s a Tennessee graduate and loved this University as much as anyone could.  He always seemed to conduct himself the right way, no matter what and you have to respect that.  (No matter what Aladamnbama fans think, they cheated, he called them out.  Tough.)

In my eyes Fulmer will go down as a legend.  He was 150-51 in his tenure in Knoxville, with a few games to go, and was 45-5 between 1995-1998.  Stop and think about that for a second and it’s mind blowing.  Fulmer has been at the helm for some of the greatest moments of my Tennessee-loving life and for that I can only think highly of him.

I do think that he fell behind the younger, higher intensity guys like Urban Meyer and Mark Richt.  The change was necessary.  Now Tennessee begins their search for a new head coach.  I believe the search starts with Will Muschamp, Defensive Coordinator at Texas; Lane Kiffin, former Oakland Raiders Head Coach; Brian Kelly, Head Coach at Cincinnati; and Chris Peterson, Head Coach at Boise St.

Other names worth mentioning: Butch Davis, John Gruden, Bill Cowher, Gary Pinkel, Steve Spurrier, and Bronco Mendenhall.  Obviously there are longshots on that list, but I like to mention them anyway.

8 Responses

  1. HAHA, “half-good” is the best compliment we’ve had in a week. Thanks for the props and the link fellas!

  2. Hmmm. This is the saddest news I’ve heard today (and I took a pharmacology test today… it takes a lot to beat that!)

    As far as who will succeed our man Fulmer, your supposition is good enough to be mine. I have no idea. I sort of hope it isn’t Pinkel… unless of course he and ol’ Phil want to just trade places and call it even.

  3. if ut had a qb with a brain and an arm we wouldnt be talking about this.look at how slack ut,s rb,s have been this year.rb foster is pulling a jaamal lewis his senior year not wanting to get hurt and ruin his draft status.the off cor at ut is a joke also.this isnt all fulmers fault.when cutcliff left the ship started to rock and then not having a good qb all the cards fell.

  4. Oskie: No problem, you guys summed it up pretty well over there. Too bad you have to associate with those bammers so much ;)

    Erin: Pinkel isn’t going anywhere, but I’ve seen him mentioned several places. I’m not a huge fan of him here at Mizzou and I don’t want to see him go to Tennessee either. I don’t think it would end well for anyone.

    Phil: I sort of agree with you. The losses to florida and bama and the quick spiral to their 2nd losing season in four years really helped this also. Tennessee fans are very demanding and don’t tolerate losing well. Now, having said that, Crompton is incompetent and Foster is acting like he’s made of glass. That didn’t help his cause.

  5. […] position next year.  A bald man in purple doesn’t quite illicit the same emotions as a fat man in orange so I don’t think this is worthy of its own post.  I have heard, though, that if you turn off […]

  6. […] saw three of our more popular posts, the Election Day post, the news of Phil Fulmer’s ousting at Tennessee and the subsequent hiring of Lane […]

  7. […] the 2010 season.  As a lifelong Braves fan, I have always dreaded this day.  Similar to the Tennessee Volunteers and Phil Fulmer, Bobby Cox is really the only Braves manager I have known.  My manager will step down next year.  […]

  8. Hello, you make some solid ‘touches’. I’m also concerned in this topic and it was a nice read so I figured I would comment that you pointed out these fine ideas.

Leave a Reply

