Playoff Predictions

I’m a little late since one game is already in the books, but we love meaningless predictions around here so I’m giving mine.

Phillies vs. Brewers – I would love to see the Brewers pull this out, since they are a fun team to watch.  Their heriocs at the end of the year with Sabathia, Braun, and Fielder kind of endeared me to them.  Having said that, I don’t think they’ll beat the Phils.   Howard, Utley, and Rollins will be too much for them in the end.  Plus, if Cole Hamels can pitch anywhere near like he did today, that’s another win.  I’ll take the Phils in 4.

Cubs vs. Dodgers – I would love to see the Cubs lose in agonizing fashion.  All the brand new Cubs hats around campus were really annoying today.  If the Dodgers can get to Dempster today, then they have a shot.  The Cubs are very difficult to beat when they throw Dempster-Zambrano-Harden at you to begin the series.  The Dodgers counter with Lowe-Billingsley-Kuroda.  Not quite the same, still good, but not the same.  Cubs in 4.

Red Sox vs. Angels – This is a very intriguing series, pitting two of the best teams in baseball against each other.  The Angels have the best record in baseball, but it’s a little deceiving since they play in the AL West.  The Sox are very strong, but Josh Beckett may not be completely healthy and they will miss Manny Ramirez.  The opening game starters are John Lester for the Sox and John Lackey for the Angels.  Lackey has been terrible in his last few starts, so this game is key for the Angels.  I don’t know how big of an upset it is for the defending Champions to win, but Sox in 5.

Rays vs. White Sox – Another good series has the upstart Rays making their first ever playoff appearance agains the veteran White Sox.  The Sox had to beat three different teams on the final three days of the season just to get in.  I have to imagine there will be some sort of hangover from all that drama, but the Rockies proved me wrong last year.  I can see this one going either way and for the record, I’d like the winner of this series to win the whole thing.  I just flipped a coin: Rays in 5.

LCS

Phillies vs. Cubs – The Cubs are the better team here, but this is where the Cubs die.  I really hope something catastrophic happens, like Zambrano pummels someone in the dugout and can’t pitch or Geovany Soto trips while rounding third and gets tagged for the series ending out.  I think the Phils offense might top the Cubs, who have been on cruise control since about August.  Phils in 6.

Rays vs. Red Sox – The Rays have proved me wrong all year, I think they’ll be the better team in this AL East showdown.  The Rays young pitchers won’t tire out as fast as the potentially injured Josh Beckett and company.  The Sox will really miss Manny against Kazmir and friends.  Rays in 6.

World Series

Phillies vs. Rays – This is where it hits the Rays that they’re actually in the playoffs.  Howard and Utley will pound the ball in Tampa while Hamels shuts down the Rays offense.  I’m not going to spend a whole lot of time breaking down this match up since it will probably be the Angels and Cubs anyway but just for fun, Phillies in 5.  MVP – Cole Hamels.

Have predictions of your own?  Let’s see them in the comments.

9 Responses

  1. Lidge looked a bit shaky closing the game today. If he can keep it together, the Phils have a chance. I have them at least getting past the Brewers: http://www.ontheblack.com/2008/10/01/mlb-playoff-predictions/

  2. I didn’t get to see the game, but 2 hits and a walk isn’t his best performance, you’re right. He did strikeout the side, however. Lidge will be fine unless he see Albert Pujols sitting in the stands and has a breakdown again.

  3. […] any of this over the weekend because I was either not home or without internet.  I did get my postseason predictions in just before the gun (well, just after, but whatever) and I got three of the four series winners […]

  4. I’d like to point out that the only MLB prediction I made all season was that the Cubs would get swept in round one by the Dodgers.

  5. […] onto baseball.  We already know how this is going to turn out, and things are working that way so far with the Phillies taking a 3-2 lead into the Bottom of the […]

  6. […] going to link to this one more time, since I don’t think I’ll ever put up predictions this accurate again.  Note the MVP […]

  7. Bryan… this is downright amazing. I am, once again, proud to be related to you.

  8. […] Major League Baseball playoffs are in October and I brought out the best predictions ever for them.  We also learned how to do […]

  9. […] last year I accurately predicted every series except the Dodgers-Cubs opening round set.  With that in mind, I’ll probably get two of […]

Leave a Reply

