My 2008 NFL Prediction (9/10)

After a bizarre Week 1 in the NFL, that resembles last year’s college football season, I decided I should revise my previous predictions. I would like to start by explaining how I made these predictions. I printed off every teams schedule and went through and picked every game, as you may realize this means that I actually picked each game twice, because a game would appear on both teams schedules. So I then printed off the entire season schedule, and went through and found which game I had picked the same out come on both teams schedules. Then I went back and re-picked the games that I had made two different selections for. There were some that I struggled to reach a final decision on and for these I asked Bryan his opinion without him knowing why I was asking. He also basically picked the Rams outcome without knowing it. After making final decisions on all of the games I then totaled up how many wins each team had and just stuck with whatever the outcome was. The reason I felt the need to explain this is because there were some weird outcomes that I did not expect, and I’m sure you wouldn’t expect either. With that in mind, here they are:

AFC
North South East West
Steelers (13-3) Colts (13-3) *pats (10-6) Chargers (13-3)
Browns (8-8) Jaguars (10-6) Jets (10-6) Broncos (8-8)
Ravens (4-12) Texans (7-9) Bills (10-6) Raiders (4-12)
Bengals (4-12) Titans (7-9) Dolphins (3-13) Chiefs (3-13)

NFC
North South East West
Vikings (10-6) Saints (14-2) Cowboys (14-2) Cardinals (10-6)
Bears (8-8) Panthers (9-7) Giants (12-4) Seahawks (10-6)
Packers (7-9) Buccaneers (6-10) Redskins (9-7) 49ers (3-13)
Lions (4-12) Falcons (3-13) Eagles (8-8) Rams (2-14)

Like I said, there are some weird things that happened, and in case you didn’t catch on, the teams in bold are the playoff teams.  So in a bizarre twist of events, and due to the Official NFL Tie-Breaking Procedures, the AFC East has three teams make the playoffs. Here’s how the teams are seeded:

AFC 1. Colts NFC 1. Saints

2. Steelers
2. Cowboys

3. Chargers
3. Vikings

4. *pats
4. Cardinals

5. Jets
5. Giants

6. Bills
6. Seahawks

And with those seedings, here’s how I predict the playoffs to go:

Wild Card Round Divisional Round
Matchup Winner Matchup Winner
Jets @ *pats *pats *pats @ Colts Colts
Bills @ Chargers Chargers Chargers @ Steelers Chargers
Giants @ Cardinals Giants Giants @ Saints Saints
Seahawks @ Vikings Vikings Vikings @ Cowboys Vikings




AFC Championship NFC Championship
Matchup Winner Matchup Winner
Chargers @ Colts Colts Vikings @ Saints Vikings




Super Bowl XLIII Matchup Super Bowl XLIII Champions
Colts vs Vikings Indianapolis Colts

Please feel free to share your thoughts in a comment at the bottom of the page. I’m curious as to what the readers think about this one.

6 Responses

  1. The Fighting Donnie Avery’s may not win a game.

  2. […] to have one out yet, but it sounded like fun, so I did it. To determine the draft order I used my predictions that I posted yesterday. With teams that had the same record, I again used Bryan to determine what I should do, […]

  3. […] September 16, 2008 by colts18 Okay, last week I didn’t do Power Rankings because I put up a new prediction for the season and my first 2009 Mock Draft. So this week I have my Power Rankings to put up. I think I might […]

  4. […] 2008 NFL Prediction (9/23) Posted on September 22, 2008 by colts18 I did it the same way as last time. For the rest of the week you can look forward to my weekly NCAA Top 25 and a new 2009 NFL Mock […]

  5. […] I realized that they were too entirely different from my last predictions. And I’ve done this the same way that I’ve done all the rest, so I can’t really do too much about it. Either way, I’m not very happy with these, but […]

  6. […] progressed, and it was pretty interesting. Here’s links to each one in order: 6/29 – 9/10 – 9/23 – 10/8 – 10/14 – 10/30 – […]

Leave a Reply

