Euro 2008 Final

Well, I have been gone since last Tuesday and my soccer viewing has been minimized. I was able to see Germany’s 3-2 victory over a very game Turkey side, but I did not see Spain’s easy 3-0 win over an annoying Russian team.

Those games set up quite a final this afternoon between Spain and my pick, Germany. Unfortunately, I can’t give any sort of thought or analysis on Spain’s 1-0 win, since I was driving for the duration of the game.

Spain was missing the tournament’s golden boot winner David Villa because of a hamstring injury. I didn’t think they’d miss him too much with Cesc Fabregas and Dani Guiza ready to step in and pick up the slack. I was a little concerned with Fernando Torres form in the tournament, but he proved me wrong with his game winner in the 33rd minute. All in all, it was a great tournament and Spain were very deserving winners. Now we turn our attention to Word Cup 2010.

One Response

  1. […] Spaniards should be higher on this list, but they have a history of failing in major competitions (except Euro 2008).  Even in this past year’s Confederations Cup, they lost to the United States when they […]

Leave a Reply

