2008 NFL Prediction

Yes, I’m finally making my own predictions for the way the 2008 NFL season will turn out. No more of this ‘simulation‘ stuff, which a lot of people seemed to think were my actual prediction anyhow. Now you finally get my prediction as to what the standings will look like at the end of the season. I did go through every game for this season at least twice, and sometimes three times, insuring that I made the pick I wanted to and so that there isn’t any “well, this team could win this many games.” No, I went through every team’s schedule and picked which games I thought they would win and lose, this way if there was a game that was basically a toss up in my mind, I would pick each team to win that game on their own schedule. I then went to see where I picked game similarly. So if I picked the Chargers to win their game against the Dolphins on their schedule and then I picked the Dolphins to lose that same game on their schedule, then I knew that I should definitely have the Chargers winning and the Dolphins losing. However, if their was discrepancy, and had both team winning a game, I went back through and picked all of those games again.

Before we get to the actual predictions I have a few disclaimers. Keep in mind that it’s hard to pick upsets when we’re still almost a month away from training camp. So the some of the teams at the top will probably have a win or two more than you’d expect and some of the teams at the bottom will have win or two less. Also, note that there are some teams that I have absolutely no idea what to expect from them this year, a couple examples that jump to mind, the Packers and the Bengals, because we don’t know how long it will take Aaron Rodgers to get comfortable, if at all and because Chad Johnson could come back and be his dominating self, or he could not show up and be a distraction to the team. For me, it’s hard to pick teams to win when they have big question marks at key positions.

So without further ado…

AFC
North South East West
Steelers (13-3) Colts (14-2) *pats (13-3) Chargers (14-2)
Browns (10-6) Jaguars (13-3) Jets (10-6) Broncos (5-11)
Ravens (5-11) Texans (8-8) Bills (9-7) Raiders (5-11)
Bengals (3-13) Titans (5-11) Dolphins (2-14) Chiefs (3-13)

NFC
North South East West
Vikings (11-5) Saints (11-5) Giants (14-2) Cardinals (9-7)
Packers (7-9) Buccaneers (9-7) Cowboys (14-2) Seahawks (6-10)
Lions (5-11) Panthers (8-8) Redskins (8-8) Rams (5-11)
Bears (3-13) Falcons (2-14) Eagles (8-8) 49ers (3-13)

So then I used the NFL’s standard tie-breaking procedures to come up with the seedings for the playoffs…

AFC 1. Colts NFC 1. Giants

2. Chargers
2. Vikings

3. *pats
3. Saints

4. Steelers
4. Cardinals

5. Jaguars
5. Cowboys

6. Browns
6. Buccaneers

And then I picked who I thought would win in the playoffs…

Wild Card Round Divisional Round
Matchup Winner Matchup Winner
Browns @ *pats *pats Jaguars @ Colts Colts
Jaguars @ Steelers Jaguars *pats @ Chargers Chargers
Buccaneers @ Saints Saints Cowboys @ Giants Cowboys
Cardinals @ Cowboys Cowboys Saints @ Vikings Vikings




AFC Championship NFC Championship
Matchup Winner Matchup Winner
Chargers @ Colts Colts Cowboys @ Vikings Cowboys




Super Bowl XLIII Matchup Super Bowl XLIII Champions
Colts vs Cowboys Indianapolis Colts
2 Responses

  1. […] 1 in the NFL, that resembles last year’s college football season, I decided I should revise my previous predictions. I would like to start by explaining how I made these predictions. I printed off every teams […]

  2. […] my predictions progressed, and it was pretty interesting. Here’s links to each one in order: 6/29 – 9/10 – 9/23 – 10/8 – 10/14 – 10/30 – […]

Leave a Reply

