Wow, We’ve Been Slacking

It’s bee quite a while since we last posted something up here, but it’s not from lack of events in the sports world. Basically, we’re just big slackers and we know it. Sometimes video games matter more than anything else.

The Boston Celtics won the NBA Finals, though I didn’t watch any of it. I’m glad for KG and Ray Allen, but I lost all respect for Paul Pierce. Not that I had much for him to begin with given his college choice. I’m just glad basketball is over so I don’t have to listen to Stephen A. Smith anymore.

The Mets cowardly fired their manager, Willie Randolph, in the middle of the night. I never thought Randolph was a very good manager to begin with, but what is Omar Minaya thinking? Two weeks ago he has a very public meeting to keep Randolph and then let speculation run rampant until firing him in the
middle of the night while the Mets were across the country in Los Angeles. This drew the ire of many people around the sports world, making Willie Randolph quite a sympathetic figure. Omar Minaya tried to make himself look like a decent human being by saying he didn’t want the firing to be leaked and have Randolph hear it from someone else. Omar Minaya is a doof and the Mets should be hang their heads on this one. The Mariners also fired everyone related to their team. I heard they were keeping Ichiro and Felix Hernandez and are going to try and win games only using those two.

The first game of the Quarterfinals in the European Championships was this afternoon with Germany taking down Cristiano Ronaldo and Portugal 3-2. The Germans will take on winner of tomorrow’s Turkey-Croatia match. Finally Germany has looked like the team I picked to win, making me feel a little bit better about my decision. At this point, the Dutch have looked invincible. If they play close to the way they have up to this point, then I don’t see anyone touching them. A Germany-Holland final would make for a spectacular game.

Tiger Woods is done for the year. After his thrilling extra-extra hole playoff win in the US Open, Woods revealed that he’d have knee surgery that would sideline him for at least 6 months. I figured he’d be out until the British Open, but not this long. Apparently he tore his ACL while jogging last year. Golf ratings will take a massive hit around the country. I doubt I will watch any for the rest of the year.

Also, Dayn Perry wrote one of the stupidest articles of all time earlier this week.  Read it, try to make sense of it.  I’ve never been real sure why Foxsports continues to pay this guy.

That might catch us up a little. I think Weller has something planned for later, but tends to fall asleep like a narcoleptic person, so I don’t know what to make of that. We won’t slack this bad again, we promise.

One Response

  1. I wondered where you were when the news of Tiger broke. You are right, golf will not be the same draw for awhile. Lets hope someone takes the opportunity to step up. Something not enough people do these days. Welcome back……….

Leave a Reply

