Stanley Cup Finals – Game 5

I haven’t gotten to see any of the Stanley Cup Finals up until tonight’s Game 5. There’s about 7 minutes left in the first OT and this may be one of the most intense hockey games I have ever seen. The Penguins dominated the opening part of the first period, scoring two quick goals. The Detroit absolutely dominated the rest of the game, outshooting the Pens 38-13 since the first. Detroit scored one in the second and took the lead with two in the third. I was resigned to the fact that pseudo-Detroit fans were going to claim their allegiance to the Wings all offseason when Max Talbot delayed my pain with 35 seconds left, putting home a rebound to tie the game at 3.

The Penguins really have no business even being in this game. Marc-Andre Fleury has single handedly kept Pittsburgh’s hopes alive. He made one of the best saves I’ve ever seen, gliding across the crease to kick Valtteri Filppula’s chance out. My jaw dropped on that one.

End of the first OT and everyone gets a chance to breathe…I’m going to change my fish’s water so I’ll have something else to do. This game was been too frantic from the very start.

Detroit has been the better team since the first 10 minutes of the game. They’re just pummeling the Penguins. Obviously, I’m a Penguins fan here. It’s the Blues fan coming out in me, so I apologize for that, but I’ll try to keep that inside. No promises if the Wings score. I’m not going to live blog this, because I don’t really know what I’m doing, but I’ll be making comments if I see something interesting.

I’m not sure it would be possible for Evgeni Malkin to be any less of a factor in this game. He can’t move, can’t find space, get the puck, he’s just been awful. On the other side, Marian Hossa has been great for the Penguins. He’d look great in Blue next year. Another questionable interference call on the Wings. I’m not going to complain, but I’d rather the Pens score full strength after that.

Marc-Andre Fleury is no longer human.

I’m going to make a prediction. I think if the Pens score, it’s going to come from a Brad Stuart mistake. He’s been making some poor decisions in his own end all night and that may come back to hurt the Wings. The Wings just look like they’re about to score every 15 seconds.

Apparently Petr Sykora just said he’s going to score. That’s pretty gutsy. My money is on Hossa or Datsyuk. Great. Triple Overtime.

I should also point out that Hal Gill has been very solid for Pittsburgh. How much do the Pens miss Sergei Gonchar right now? Now the announcers agree with me.

Wow, a four minute penalty to Jiri Hudler. What a mistake on the high stick. Pittsburgh hasn’t looked real good on their last two PPs. The injured Sergei Gonchar is now on the ice, this could get interesting.

PETR SYKORA HAS ENDED IT! He called it earlier and he gets it done. Gonchar and Malkin get the assist and we go to Pittsburgh Wednesday night. What a game. Player of the game easily goes Marc Andrew Fleury. He is easily the only reason Pittsburgh didn’t lose by 5. I’ve had enough, I’m going to bed.

Leave a Reply

