2008 NFL Schedule Simulation (Part 1)

Okay, so about a week ago, I tried to go through and pick all 512 NFL games for 2008. This task was hard enough in itself but I also managed to fail to take into account things like upsets. The results of this had eleven teams with 12 or more wins, and three teams with 1 win or less, which isn’t very realistic. So today I sat down to think of a way to take upsets into account in an unbiased way. So using ESPN’s first power ranking of the season, I used a random number generator to ‘simulate’ the games. I did this by determining how many numbers would be designated to each team based on how far apart they were ranked from eachother in the power rankings. With this post I’m simply putting up the standing after the first four weeks, just to see what kind of response I get to this. If you want to know more about how I designated numbers, who won a specific game or if you would like me to post the rest of the season, just let me know in a comment.

There were some big surprising starts through week 4. With 3 undefeated teams, one of which is a big surprise and 4 winless teams, including one of last year’s playoff teams. Top NFC teams struggle, while young players mesh quickly for other teams.

AFC
North South East West
Ravens (3-1) Jaguars (4-0) Jets (3-1) Chiefs (3-1)
Steelers (3-1) Colts (2-1) pats (2-1) Chargers (3-1)
Browns (2-2) Texans (1-3) Dolphins (1-2) Broncos (2-2)
Bengals (1-3) Titans (0-4) Bills (1-3) Raiders (0-4)
NFC
North South East West
Packers (3-1) Falcons (4-0) Redskins (3-1) Seahawks (3-0)
Vikings (2-2) Buccaneers (3-1) Eagles (3-1) Rams (2-2)
Lions (1-2) Panthers (1-3) Giants (1-2) Cardinals (2-2)
Bears (0-4) Saints (0-4) Cowboys (1-3) 49ers (1-3)
6 Responses

  1. […] Schedule Simulation (Part 2) Posted on May 15, 2008 by colts18 On Tuesday, I simulated the first 4 weeks of the 2008 NFL schedule. So I am now releasing the standings through week 8. If you would like to […]

  2. […] to see the progression of how these teams got to where they are now you can see my simulations for weeks 1-4 and weeks 5-8. Also, if you would like more information you can see Part 1 of the simulation. Okay, […]

  3. […] left in the regular season. Again, if you’d like to see how things have progressed, check out Part 1 (weeks 1-4), Part 2 (weeks 5-8), and Part 3 (weeks 9-12). And I ask again, to please keep in mind that I […]

  4. […] if you want to see how things have progressed through this simulated season, you can check out Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4. Also, if you would like to know the results from any specific games, […]

  5. […] but that didn’t play out. As always, if you want to see how it played out, you can check out Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4 and Part 5. Also, please keep in mind that I didn’t actually make any […]

  6. […] making my own predictions for the way the 2008 NFL season will turn out. No more of this ‘simulation‘ stuff, which a lot of people seemed to think were my actual prediction anyhow. Now you […]

Leave a Reply

