My All-Time NFL Team

I actually put this together a couple months ago but I figured it was worth of being put onto this site. This is my All-Time NFL Team, as the title so cleverly suggests. Please keep in mind that I didn’t necessarily pick who I think is the absolute best for each position, but instead I picked players that I thought would work best together, granted a large majority of the time this overlaps with who the best player is at the given position. I also realize that I have this laid out like a depth chart and for all intents and purposes it is, but understand that with a lot of positions it would be on a primarily situational basis to determine who would be in and who wouldn’t be and you’d be splitting hairs to decide who’s actually better anyhow. Also note that for positions where I couldn’t quite make up my mind, I put two players – It’s my list, I can do what I want. With the obvious versatility that this team brings you would be able to run basically any defensive formation as well as any offensive formation, though I was originally taking formations into consideration when selecting players.

If you have any questions about why I picked or left off certain players, feel free to leave a comment and that way I can respond directly on the comment board so that if anyone else has the same question it will all be right there for them.

QB1: Peyton Manning SS1: Ronnie Lott
QB2: Dan Marino SS2: Ken Houston
QB3: Joe Montana/Brett Favre
FS1: Sammy Baugh
RB1: Barry Sanders FS2: Larry Wilson/Emlen Tunnell
RB2: Jim Brown
RB3: Ladanian Tomlinson CB1: Deion Sanders
RB4: Jerome Bettis CB2: Dick Lane
RB5: Walter Payton CB3: Mel Blount
CB4: Rod Woodson
FB1: Bronko Nagurski CB5: Bobby Boyd
WR1: Jerry Rice *LB: Dick Butkus
WR2: Don Hutson *LB: Ray Nitschke
WR3: Lance Alworth *LB: Lawrence Taylor
WR4: Marvin Harrison *LB: Ray Lewis
WR5: Terrell Owens *LB: Mike Singletary
WR6: Don Maynard *LB: Jack Lambert
TE1: Antonio Gates LE1: David Jones
TE2: Kellen Winslow LE2: Gino Marchetti
TE3: John Mackey/Dallas Clark
DT1: Joe Greene
LT1: Anthony Munoz DT2: Bob Lilly
LT2: Jonathan Ogden DT3: Merlin Olsen
LG1: John Hannah RE1: Reggie White
LG2: Gene Upshaw RE2: Bruce Smith
C1: Mel Hein P: Dustin Colquitt/Shane Lechler
C2: Dwight Stephenson K: Mike Vanderjagt/Adam Vinatieri
RG1: Jim Parker KR1: Devin Hester
RG2: Larry Little KR2: Gale Sayers
STP: Steve Tasker
RT1: Forrest Gregg *I was going to specify between inside and outside linebackers but I think that they are all versatile enough to play either so it doesn’t really matter.
RT2: Roosevelt Brown
Coach: Paul Brown/Bill Walsh
12 Responses

  1. Darrell Green?
    Art Monk?
    John Riggins?

    I know I am a little biased but really I think its worth a look.

  2. Darrell Green I’ll have to reconsider now that you’ve mentioned it… and while Art Monk is definitely a legit name to throw out there, my last WR is Don Maynard, who has higher yds/game, yds/rec, TDs/game and TD% so he just doesn’t make it… and I really don’t think John Riggins even touches the guys I have on my team, except maybe the Bus, but he wouldn’t see much time anyhow, only short yardage situations.

  3. The ONLY safety I agree with you on is Lott. Sammy Baugh was not a spectacular defender and if not for his QB play you’d have never heard of him.

    I’d have Willie Wood, Jack Tatum, Paul Krause, and Yale Larry all ahead of Baugh and Ken Houston.

    I guess Larry Wilson isn’t too bad a pick.

  4. Sammy Baugh isn’t on my team because he’s the best safety ever, he’s on my team because he deserves to be… he’s probably one of the most versatile players ever… safety, quarterback, punter… that’s impressive and I felt he deserved to be on my team because of it… I had Emlen Tunnell on there solely because he almost averaged an INT every other game for his entire career, which is insane… as for Ken Houston, it may not be the BEST pick ever, but he was on the 75th anniversary team, and he was a 12 time pro bowler, and on the 1970s all decade team, and is obviously in the Hall of Fame, so you can’t really have too much against the pick.

  5. I think your list is pretty solid.

    I like a lot on there. I think you should reconsider spots for a few guys.

    The line could use a 3rd spot at each position I think. There were a lot of good ones that could easily replace anyone on the list excluding Munoz and Hannah.

    Art Shell
    Jackie Slater
    Walter Jones
    Jim Parker….surprised a Colts fan didnt have him.

    Herb Adderly – Packer fan, Big favorite of my dads.

    Joe Schmidt ….10 PB and 1 of 4 Defensive players to win an MVP….Both I’d say over Woodson. Even Champ Bailey when it’s all is set and done.

    Alan Page – ND Great. 9 PB and 12 all-pro. 170 sacks or something as a DT….MVP in 71 or 72. Guy was a beast.

    Marion Motley was always a favorite of my Dads. Especially seeing as Bettis made the list.

    I’d also say if not Motley, Gale Sayers, Earl Campbell or OJ should be on that list.

    I’m torn with your TO selection. His numbers are great. His off-field stuff kind of hides them but I can’t put him ahead of Moss for our generation.

    I’ve got other ones but my post would be ridiculously long…I just wanted to touch on a couple things.

  6. I can say that I honestly agree with a majority of what you’ve said. I definitely agree that I should have had an extra spot for each position on the o-line, but I was trying to keep it as close as I could to the legal 53-man roster, and in all honesty it was just more fun picking WRs and RBs, so they took up the most spots, lol… and I can’t argue any of the linemen you mentioned, and when it comes to the best o-linemen in history, we’re mainly splitting hairs with most cases anyhow…

    I like both Herb Adderley and Joe Schmidt, but I tried to do this without too much bias and I couldn’t leave Night Train off, and Mel Bount and Rod Woodson were on the 75th anniversary team, and in my opinion Deion Sanders is the best cover corner in history, he wasn’t a great tackler, but as a cover corner, he’s unparalleled… and Bobby Boyd average 0.471 INTs per game, which I’m pretty sure is 2nd best in the history of the NFL, behind Mel Blount.

    Alan Page could probably be on there over Merlin Olsen, but I know that a lot of Steelers from the 70s say that Joe Greene was the keystone to their 4 Super Bowl wins, which is more than enough for me to put him on there, and Bob Lilly started 196 consecutive games at DT, and was more than productive in basically every single one, so he made the cut too, lol.

    Motley definitely could have been on there over Bettis, but I probably would have had Motley at FB anyhow, and I don’t think anyone can really compare to Bronko Nagurski when it comes to FBs… Peter King once said that that Nagurski is like Mike Alstott with Jerome Bettis type production, so that had me pretty convinced.

    As for Sayers, I snuck him in as my kick returner, which was my way of getting myself an extra RB, lol… plus he’s a hell of a kick returner.

    With OJ and Campbell, I just feel like the guys I picked (aside from The Bus) had better overall, consistent production throughout their careers, though once again, this is kind of splitting hairs, lol.

    As for T.O. I agree that Moss is better, but Moss pissed of Jerry Rice, and I feel like T.O. made bigger strides into becoming more mature this past season than Moss did.

    As you can tell from my comment, you can leave one as long as you want, lol… so if you have anymore thoughts, I’d love to hear them, because I recognize that there are obviously going to be discrepancies, and I always like to hear other people ideas and opinions on things.

    Thanks for the comment, it’s easily the best one so far.

  7. Oh, and I just looked back because I was also surprised that I didn’t have Jim Parker… but I do, lol… I have him as my starting right guard

  8. Kicker…. why not go With Jan Stenerud, the only kicker in the Hall, and there is NO WAY that Ray Guy is not your punter (even as a Raider Hater he’d be my punter)

  9. I can handle that.

    I have had this convo before and Joe Schmidt and Alan Page are the ones initially i didnt really know but came to just accepting. Cuz I really had no argument for MVP awards.

    The rest are like splitting hairs.

    I really don’t like Bettis. He was a ND guy so it’s rare I say this. In general or for this list I just dislike him. You can’t quite argue his production but if thats the case, someone like Emmitt should be ahead of him. If not, I can’t see how Earl Campbell isn’t because he was a rare breed.

    The thing that gets overlooked with Page or maybe is why he doesn’t get the credit…it can go either way I guess…is that he was apart of that Purple People eaters group and the nfl had bigger characters like the Steel Curtain and Fearsome Foursome…

    So i think sometimes he is overlooked. Although I know he is also very well respected. I found the sporting news thing from the 90’s online and they had him 34th overall. So I can’t say he doesn’t get any credit.

  10. […] that the program is currently in. I was inspired to put this together when I looked back at My All-Time NFL Team that I had put together about 5 months ago. Well, to cut the the chase, here it […]

  11. […] and the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He collected many other honors as well, he even made it onto My All-Time NFL Team roster. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)The news and photos that the shameful secular […]

  12. […] and Monday nights… and sometimes on Thursday. I love football so much that I do stuff like this and this… and this and this… and this and this… you get the idea. Football is the […]

Leave a Reply

