Champions League Soccer

I watched the Manchester United-Barcelona Champions League Semifinal today, and I couldn’t decide who I wanted to win. I’m usually a supporter of any English side (except Chelsea) since I enjoy the Premier League the most, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to see an all-England Final.

If I were English, or didn’t care about the average American’s opinion about soccer, I would really enjoy seeing a Man U-Liverpool final. Man U has already played Liverpool twice and Chelsea three times this season, going 2-0 against Liverpool and 1-1-1 against Chelsea. To my knowledge, Barca hasn’t taken the field against either team this year. Obviously, this would have created a fresh, new match up that might intrigue the casual American fan enough to flip on the TV and watch.

Unfortunately, Paul Scholes had other ideas when he lashed the ball into the top corner of the net in the 13th minute. I was very surprised at the frantic pace of the opening 45 minutes, but it slowed considerably after the halftime break. I had to miss the last 20 minutes of the game for class, but I understand that not much happened in the second half. Henry had little effect on the game and Ronaldinho was unavailable. Samuel Eto’o was virtually non-existent until he was substituted at the beginning of the second half. The only player that really impressed me for Barca was Deco, who strung together a couple good chances in the first, but overall Barca never looked threatening and Man U deserved to win, even without the services of Wayne Rooney.

I’ll be pulling for Liverpool tomorrow since I have a die-hard Reds fan in my house and I hate all things Chelsea (except Frank Lampard and John Terry, they’re just that good). I’m not expecting them to win though and I think a Chelsea-Man U final would be more entertaining since Man U has outscored Liverpool 4-0 in their two meetings this season, but I’ll still be sporting my old Michael Owen jersey. Having said all that, mark me down for a 2-0 Chelsea win and a Man U-Chelsea Grand Final.

EPSN’s limited soccer coverage has just informed me that this will be the first time in Champions League history that two English teams will meet in the Final. What do you all think the score will be? Leave your comments…

2 Responses

  1. Chelsea is going down. Hard. The Scousers (Liverpool) are going to whomp them tomorrow. FYI… i’m that die hard fan in the house. Go REDS!! You gotta believe…

  2. I hate to see Chelsea win anything. Ought to be good.

Leave a Reply

