WaB Turns 2

If you’d have told me that this little blog would make it to two years old, I’d have told you that you were crazy.  But, 648 posts later, here we are: two years old.

I’m going to run this like I did last year with a Year In Review post of all the things we’ve done in this past year.  Should be a good time…and it should take me a long time so let’s get started.

We started the year as we have done in the past with a Live Blog of the NFL Draft.  We’re doing it again this year so come by and join us for that.

Sadly, we only had one look-alike post last year, but I thought it was a good one.

Also in May we had a hotly-contested post about the Happy Youngster, who I don’t like one bit.

In June, I tried my hand at a Major League Baseball mock draft which did not go well.  It was fun to make, though.

Also, we called out this guy for being a jackass.  That post also included the best poll ever made.

June concluded with the US National Team beating #1 ranked Spain in the Confederations Cup.  Good stuff there.

I did my yearly complaining about the All-Star Game and then went to the the game and the Home Run Derby.  That month also brought us Tom Watson’s near heroics.

I also got a free trip to Fenway Park, which was nice.

After that we took another August sabbatical.  This one didn’t quite last two weeks like the first year, but it was pretty long.

Weller put up one of the most diligently researched posts ever at the beginning of college football season.

He also took on a challenge about Timmy Tebow and Florida and was met with resistance…from Vanderbilt fans?

On August 20th, we cracked 100,000 views.

Holy crap, I got engaged.

I ended the Rams’ season before it ever got started.  Again.

In September we debuted the most popular segment in the history of the internet:  The Friday 5.

In October, I accurately predicted all the Baseball Awards.  Weird.

We also went corporate in October when I wrote this lovely endorsement for Soccerpro.com.  Go there, buy more things.

I got to visit one of the most sacred grounds in all of sports when my fiance and I traveled to the Field of Dreams.  This is probably one of my favorite posts ever.

I got to complain about the Yankees.  That’s always fun.

Weller wrote one of the stranger posts we’ve seen around here.

Weller still hates Brett Gardner.  I think it’s hilarious.  Unfortunately, the Brett Gardner Fan Club didn’t come to his defense this time.

In January we learned that He Who Must Not Be Named was cowardly running to USC after one unspectacular year in Knoxville.  I didn’t think I could hate anyone more than Tim Tebow…but I do.  I hate Lane Kiffin.

A day later we learned that I got a job working for the Olympics in Vancouver.  Man, that was fun.

The rest of February was slow.  Terribly slow.

Then in March we had our annual fan mock draft, which was a great success again.  It definitely went better than the first year.

We also reached 200,000 views.  I’m not sure how that happened.

I also went to the Elite 8…which didn’t go all that well.

In April, we’ve been slacking again (mostly me) but I had a decent reason.  I was just hired on with the St. Louis Cardinals.  I start next Wednesday.

So that’s the Year in Review.  I hope you enjoyed the stroll down memory lane as much as I did.  I’m going to go drink a Guinness to celebrate.

2 Responses

  1. For the record I was right about florida…

  2. [...] Time – Lambeau Style Posted on April 26, 2010 by classic17 As I wrote our Happy Birthday post the other day, I realized that I didn’t have any Story Time posts last year with the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

